TEAM NEWS: Trio return for Rebels, Cottrell to miss Waratahs clash

Super Rugby
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Rebels coach Dave Wessels says his side is desperate to make up for a disappointing loss against the Stormers when they take on the Waratahs this weekend.

Anaru Rangi, Matt Philip and Jack Maddocks have shaken off niggles to return to the starting XV for Saturday's match in a handy boost for the Australian conference leaders.

It's not all good injury news for Melbourne, though.

Stand-in captain Angus Cottrell will miss the match with concussion, opening the door for Richard Hardwick to step up to the starting no. 7.

Wessels said he felt his team wasn't itself against the Stormers but they were keen to make a statement against the Waratahs.

"I think probably if I reflect on last week, maybe we felt we talked too much about the opposition," he said.

"We went out there and then didn't play the game that we wanted to play. So, the big learning for us over the last week, the big reflection is we've got to be the best version of ourselves every week and the most disappointing thing in that performance is it just wasn't us.

"I'm okay to play well and get beaten by a better team if that happens but I get frustrated when we don't play well ourselves.

"To the boys' credit, they've trained really hard, can just tell there's an energy around the team at the moment.

"They want to make up for last week's poor performance. I don't expect us to be perfect but I do expect us to do the things that we want to do really well and with a lot of intensity."

The Rebels take on the Waratahs on Saturday April 20, kicking off at 7:45pm AEST, LIVE on FOX SPORTS, Kayo Sports and RADIO. Buy tickets here. 


Rebels to face the Waratahs

1. Matt Gibbon

2. Anaru Rangi

3. Jermaine Ainsley

4 .Matt Philip

5 .Adam Coleman

6 .Luke Jones

7. Richard Hardwick

8. Isi Naisarani

9. Will Genia

10. Quade Cooper

11. Marika Koroibete

12. Billy Meakes

13. Tom English

14. Jack Maddocks

15. Reece Hodge


16. Hugh Roach

17. Tetera Faulkner

18. Sam Talakai

19. Ross Haylett-Petty

20. Robbie Leota

21. Michael Ruru

22. Campbell Magnay

23. Sione Tuipulotu