Western Force name team to take on World XV

by RUGBY.com.au staff

The Western Force have named their 23-man squad to take on the World XV in Perth on Friday night.

Halfback Ian Prior will lead the side again in 2019 in a showcase series, following the postponement of the Rapid Rugby Series,

The run-on side remains largely settled from the Force team who played in the NRC last winter.

New signings Andrew Ready and Nick Jooste have been named to make their likely Force debuts from the bench.

Speedy winger Rod Davies is unavailable due to an ankle injury suffered while playing for the Australian men’s sevens team in Vancouver recently.

The World XV, coached by Robbie Deans, contains an array of well-known names, including former Wallabies wings Nick Cummins and Digby Ioane, ex-All Blacks halfback Andy Ellis and prop Wyatt Crockett, Pumas lock Leonarde Senatore and ex-Springbok speedster Gio Aplon.

Both teams will have captains’ runs on Thursday ahead of the clash on Friday night.

The game is the first In a series, with the Force to play the South China Tigers at home a week later.

The Western Force will host the World XV at HBF Park, Perth, on Friday at 7.30pm (WA time). LIVE on SBS VIceland.


1. Cameron Orr

2. Feleti Kaitu’u

3. Keiran Longbottom

4. Johan Bardoul

5. Jeremy Thrush

6. Henry Stowers

7. Chris Alcock

8. Brynard Stander

9. Ian Prior

10. Andrew Deegan

11. Clay Uyen

12. Henry Taefu

13. Marcel Brache

14. Brad Lacey

15. Jack McGregor

16. Andrew Ready

17. Harrison Lloyd

18. Chris Heiberg

19. Leon Power

20. Tevin Ferris

21. Issak Fines

22. AJ Alatimu

23. Nick Jooste


Gio Aplon (South Africa), Yoshikazu Fujita (Japan), Nick Cummins (Australia), Digby Ioane (Australia), Asaeli Tikoirotuma (Fiji), Dylan Riley (Australia), Inga Finau (New Zealand), Kosei Ono (Japan), Leon Fukofuka (Tonga), Andy Ellis (New Zealand, captain), Leonardo Senatore (Argentina), Hugh Renton (New Zealand), Michael Curry (New Zealand), Shota Fukui (Japan), Michael Oakman-Hunt (Australia), Jack Cornelsen (Australia), Hamish Dalzell (New Zealand), Tom Moloney (Australia), Chris King (New Zealand), Shohei Hirano (Japan), Wyatt Crockett (New Zealand), Greg Pleasants-Tate (New Zealand), Corey Flynn (New Zealand)