Super W: Queensland make six changes to starting XV for Brumbies clash

Super W
by Emma Greenwood

Australian Sevens players Amy Turner and Georgie Friedrichs have been elevated to the starting side for the Queensland Women's XV's Super W clash against the Brumbies at Ballymore on Saturday.

Coach Moana Viurtue has made six changes to the starting side for the final regular season clash of the season to manage players loads ahead of the finals.

After losing to NSW last week, it's almost certain Queensland will have to play off for a place in the grand final, where they will look to earn a rematch against the Waratahs women and a replay of last year's dramatic premiership decider.

Olympic gold medallist Turner will start at inside centre, with Friedrichs at fullback after the pair made their Super W debuts last week.

Amy Turner of Australia scores a try against France during the Emirates Dubai Rugby Sevens - HSBC World Rugby Women's Sevens Series at The Sevens Stadium on December 4, 2015 in Dubai, United Arab Emirates. (Photo by Warren Little/Getty Images)

In other changes, University of Queensland prop Ana Fotu comes in at tighthead, while Ivy Kaleta and Saxon Campbell also move into the starting pack.

Dirranbandi product Emily Bass will make her Super W debut after being named to start on the right wing, while Sunnybank's Maryanne Fuimaono and GPS backrower Tessa Vaoga are both in line for Super W debuts after being named on the bench.

"We've made several changes to the side this week as we prepare to face the Brumbies," Virtue said.

"The last three weeks have been an intense block of rugby with two away games in round one and round three and it's important that we manage player loads as we near the back end of the tournament.

"We're lucky that we have plenty of depth within our squad.

"The girls we've brought into the starting XV have all earned the chance to play some more game time and Bass, Fuimaono and Vaoga, who are all in line for their debuts, have been training the house down and contributing to the team off the field."

UQ and GPS will be fighting it out for the Hospital Challenge Cup. Photo: QRU Media/Brendan HertelMeanwhile, Queensland Premier Rugby champions GPS and runners-up University of Queensland have named their sides for the Australian Club Championship matches.

UQ will play Shute Shield runners-up Warringah at 4pm AEDT (3pm local), with GPS taking on Shute Shield champions Sydney Uni at 7:45pm (6:45pm local) following the Super W clash.

Queensland Women's XV take on the Brumbies women at Ballymore on Saturday, March 16, kicking off at 6pm AEDT (5pm local), live on Kayo Sports and streamed at

Queensland team vs Brumbies

1. Hana Ngaha – Souths

2. Ivy Kaleta – Sunnybank

3. Ana Fotu – University of Queensland

4. Alisha Hewett – GPS/ADF

5. Saxon Campbell – Redlands

6. Millie Boyle – Bond University

7. Shannon Mato – Sunnybank

8. Kiri Lingman – Sunnybank (C)

9. Cobie-Jane Morgan – Sunnybank

10. Lavinia Gould – Wests

11. Alana Elisaia – Sunnybank

12. Amy Turner – Sunnybank

13. Cecilia Smith – Sunnybank

14. Emily Bass – Wests

15. Georgie Friedrichs – Wests


16. Averyl Mitchell – University of Queensland

17. Toa Filimoehala – Sunnybank

18. Maryanne Fuimaono – Sunnybank

19. Vetekina Aho-Fangaloka – Sunnybank

20. Tessa Vaoga – GPS

21. Asako Ono – University of Queensland

22. Eseta Aho-Fangaloka – Sunnybank

23. Ivania Wong – Sunnybank