John Folau to run out for emerging Waratahs

Super Rugby
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

John Folau will make his first appearance in the Waratahs fold on Friday after being named in an emerging side to take on the touring Auckland Contenders.

Folau signed a deal with the Waratahs at the end of last year but didn't feature in preseason due to injuries.

The younger brother of Israel Folau will start on the right wing in Friday evening's clash against the Kiwis, one of 15 Waratahs players in the 28-man squad.

South African giant Le Roux Roets is also set to make a start after his Super Rugby chances were dealt a blow with concussion in the final Waratahs trial.

Former Schoolboys Will Harris and Will Harrison are also in the squad, the latter starting at fullback.

Will Harrison is playing at fullback for the emerging Waratahs. Photo: WalmsleyThe match will be a chance for backup hookers Andrew Tuala and JP Sauni to push their selection credentials after Tolu Latu's Super Rugby suspension.

Emerging Waratahs coach Shannon Fraser said the match would be a good chance for the next level of players to show their wares.

“Our team is combination of NSW Waratahs players looking for more game time as well as the emerging talent coming through our NSW rugby player pathway programs.

“We are using this as an opportunity to not only give our emerging talent more quality competitions, but also developing our support staff.

“Auckland Contenders are a quality side and we are expecting them to deliver a quality game of rugby."

The Emerging Waratahs will take on the Auckland Contenders on Friday at Daceyville, kicking off at 5:30pm AEDT.


1. Rory O'Connor

2. Andrew Tuala

3. Chris Talakai

4. Ryan Mccauley

5. Le Roux Roets

6. Lachlan Swinton

7. Will Miller (Captain)

8. Hugh Sinclair

9. Mitch Short

10. Mack Mason

11. Richard Woolf

12. Joey Walton

13. Cam Clark

14. John Folau

15. Will Harrison


16. JP Sauni

17. Cody Walker

18. John Bosco-Talaloa

19. Bj Edwards

20. Nathan Den Hoedt

21. Patrick Tafa

22. Rory Suttor

23. Will Harris

24. Henry Robertson

25. Ben Donaldson

26. Guy Porter

27. Mark Nawaqanitawase

28. Jaline Graham