Force ring the changes to face Dragons

Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

The Western Force have rung the changes for their World Series Rugby clash with the Hong Kong Dragons on Friday night.

Coach Tim Sampson has swapped out six players for the match, the penultimate World Series outing.

Peter Grant will take the reins at flyhalf with Andrew Deegan out of the 23 against the Dragons.

A host of forwards have been brought in with hooker Harry Scoble, props Markus Vanzati and Kieran Longbotton and lock Fergus-Lee Warner coming into the mix. 

Flanker Brynard Stander and centre Marcel Brache will both celebrate their 50th Force matches in the game.

Former Rebels rookie Jack McGregor will have his first start for the WA side when he lines up at fullback for the team.

The Dragons have named a 25-man squad for Friday night's encounter as they look to spring an upset.

The Western Force hosts the Hong Kong Dragons at nib Stadium on Friday night, kicking off at 6:30pm local, 8:30pm AEST.


In: Harry Scoble, Markus Vanzati, Kieran Longbottom, Fergus Lee-Warner, Rodney Iona, George Pisi

Out: Andrew Deegan, Harrison Lloyd, Feleti Kaitu’u, Tom Sheminant, Chris Alcock, Masivesi Dakuwaqa.

Force to take on the Hong Kong Dragons

1. Cameron Orr

2. Heath Tessmann

3. Chris Heiberg

4. Jeremy Thrush

5. Leon Power­­­­

6. Harrison Orr

7. Tevin Ferris

8. Brynard Stander

9. Ian Prior

10. Peter Grant

11. Brad Lacey

12. Henry Taefu

13. Marcel Brache

14. Clay Uyen

15. Jack McGregor


16. Harry Scoble

17. Markus Vanzati

18. Kieran Longbottom

19. Fergus Lee-Warner

20. Henry Stowers

21. Issak Fines-Leleiwasa

22. AJ Alatimu

23. Rodney Iona

24. George Pisi 

Hong Kong Dragons to take on the Western Force

1.Tau Kolomatangi

2. Mitch Andrews

3. Grant Kemp

4. Fin Field

5. Craig Lodge

6. James Sawyer

7. Josh Dowsing

8. Josh Hrstich

9. Bryn Phillips

10. Nathan De Theirry

11. Sam Purvis

12. Ben Axten-Burrett

13. Tyler Spitz

14. Charlie Higson-Smith

15. Casey Stone


16. Johnnie McCormick-Houston

17. Ben Higgins

18. Callum McFeat Smith

19. Chris Allman

20. Chris Calanza (Pierrepont)

21. Ben Willis

22. Ruan Du Plooy

23. Rob Keith

24. Lewis Warner

25. Callum Tam