Ledesma names first Pumas squad

The Rugby Championship
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Mario Ledesma has named his first Argentina squad with 36 men in the mix for the Rugby Championship.

Ledesma was appointed Pumas coach last week after Daniel Hourcade resigned in June and he has had to move quickly to finalise his group for the Southern Hemisphere tournament.

The former Wallabies scrum coach will debut as national mentor on Sunday August 19 (AEST) when the Pumas travel to Durban to take on the Springboks.

There are seven uncapped players included in the squad - Lucas Favre, Marco Ciccioli, Diego Fortuny, Santiago Grondona, Franco Molina and Mayco Vivas.

Argentina beat the Springboks in their last clash in Durban in 2015, one of just two victories they've claimed over South Africa since their Rugby Championship inclusion.

The Wallabies host the Pumas on September 15 at Cbus Super Stadium on the Gold Coast, kicking off at 8pm AEST, LIVE on FOX SPORTS and via RUGBY.com.au RADIO. Buy tickets for that match and the rest of the Rugby Championship here.


Matias Alemanno

Gonzalo Bertranou

Rodrigo Bruni

Marco Ciccioli

Agustin Creevy

Diego Fortuny

Santiago Garcia Botta

Santiago Grondona

Marcos Kremer

Ignacio Larrague

Juan Manuel Leguizamon

Pablo Matera

Vivas Mayco

Santiago Medrano

Franco Molina

Julian Montoya

Javier Ortega Desio

Guido Petti

Nahuel Tetaz

Juan Zeiss


Emiliano Boffelli

Sebastian Cancelliere

Tomas Cubelli

Jeronimo De La Fuente

Bautista Delguy

Joaquin Diaz Bonilla

Bautista Ezcurra

Santiago Iglesias

Martin Landajo

Tomas Lavanini

Juan Cruz Mallia

Matias Moroni

Ramiro Moyano

Matias Orlando

Nicolas Sanchez