Sio out, Alaalatoa back for Brumbies

Thu, 05/07/2018, 07:18 am
Beth Newman
by Beth Newman
Scott Sio has been ruled out of the Brumbies' match against the Chiefs. Photo: Getty Images

Brumbies prop Allan Alaalatoa will return to face the Chiefs this weekend but fellow front rower Scott Sio has been ruled out of the must-win match.

Sio has failed to overcome a shoulder issue that forced him out of the Brumbies' win over the Hurricanes in Canberra, with Nic Mayhew taking his place in the starting lineup.

Alaalatoa will start for the Brumbies for the first time in more than a month after spraining his ankle in Wallabies camp ahead of the first June Test.

Sam Carter and the Brumbies are relatively stable in 2018. Photo: WalmsleyLock Sam Carter has failed to shake off a back complaint for the second week in a row, giving Rory Arnold and Blake Enever starts in the second row.

In more positive injury news, backrower Lachie McCaffrey will return from his own back niggle against the Chiefs, coming off the bench for the sudden-death match.

Emerging lock Darcy Swain, who re-signed with the Brumbies this week, has dropped out of the 23.

The Brumbies need to win in Waikato to keep their slim finals chances alive, with just two regular season matches remaining.

The Brumbies take on the Chiefs in Waikato on Saturday July 7, kicking off at 5:15pm local, 3:15pm AEST, LIVE on FOX SPORTS and via RADIO. 


IN: Allan Alaalatoa, Lachie McCaffrey

OUT: Scott Sio, Darcy Swain

1. Nic Mayhew

2. Folau Fainga’a

3. Allan Alaalatoa

4. Rory Arnold

5. Blake Enever

6. Tom Cusack

7. David Pocock

8. Isi Naisarani

9. Joe Powell

10. Christian Lealiifano

11. Andrew Muirhead

12. Kyle Godwin

13. Tevita Kuridrani

14. Henry Speight

15. Tom Banks


16. Connal McInerney

17. Ben Alexander

18. Leslie Leuluaialii-Makin

19. Richie Arnold

20. Lachlan McCaffrey

21. Matt Lucas

22. Wharenui Hawera

23. Lausii Taliauli

Chiefs to face Brumbies

1. Karl Tuinukuafe

2. Nathan Harris

3. Angus Taavao

4. Michael Allardice

5. Tyler Ardron

6. Luke Jacobson

7. Sam Cane

8. Liam Messam

9. Brad Weber

10. Damian McKenzie

11. Shaun Stevenson

12. Charlie Ngatai

13. Sean Wainui

14. Toni Pulu

15. Solomon Alaimalo


16. Samisoni Takueiaho

17. Sam Prattley

18. Jeff Thwaites

19. Jesse Parete

20. Lachlan Boshier

21. Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi

22. Marty McKenzie

23. Johnny Faauli

Sydney Uni winning the line-out over Manly. Photo: Karen Watson
Club Corner Round Up: Rivalries ignite as top teams are challenged
One of the main highlights for the Rebels: Reclaiming the Weary Dunlop Shield. Photo: Getty Images.
Super Rugby Trans-Tasman preview - Rebels
Feleti Kaitu'u is refusing to be intimidated by his Kiwi counterparts Photo: Getty Images
Western Force refusing to back down against Kiwi opponents
The Rebels will be looking to feed Marika Koroibete the ball throughout Super Rugby Trans-Tasman | Getty Images
Rebels out to utilise Koroibete strengths Logo

The are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.