Junior Wallabies name big guns to face New Zealand

World Rugby U20s Championship
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

The Junior Wallabies have named a full-strength side to face New Zealand, in a must-win World Rugby U20s clash.

Reds trio Hamish Stewart, Harry Hockings and Jordan Petaia will all slot straight into the starting side, after arriving in France to replace injured trio Len Ikitau, Trevor Hosea and James Ramm.

Prop Lawrence Tominiko will also be missing from the side, suspended for a dangerous tackle against Japan.

Tate McDermott has retained the starting halfback spot over Ryan Lonergan, after making an impact in their win against Japan last Sunday.

Harry Hockings is back for a second year in U20s. Photo: Getty ImagesThe Aussies went down to New Zealand in the Oceania U20s in April, 43-28, and Gilmore said they had taken strides since that match.

"It’s been – Oceania gave us a bit of the line in the sand to see where we’re at," he said.

"Leading into the World Cup, we hadn’t played together as a group for a while, so they were a bit rusty, but certainly you can see the growth from the Wales to the Japan game."

The Junior Wallabies take on New Zealand on Thursday June 7 9pm local, Friday June 8 5am AEST, LIVE on FOX SPORTS.


IN: Hamish Stewart, Harry Hockings, Jordan Petaia

OUT: Lawrence Tominiko, Isiah Latu, Rory Suttor

1. Harry Hoopert, Queensland, Brothers 

2. Efi Maa’afu, Queensland, Wests

3. Tom Ross, ACT, Gungahlin 

4. Angus Blyth, Queensland, Bond University 

5. Harry Hockings, Queensland 

6. Michael Wood, Queensland, Brothers

7. Fraser McReight, Queensland, Brothers 

8. Josh Kemeny, NSW, Sydney University 

9. Tate McDermott (c), Queensland, University of Queensland

10. Hamish Stewart, Queensland, Bond University 

11. Jordan Petaia, Queensland, Wests

12. Isaac Lucas, Queensland, Sunnybank

13. Semisi Tupou, Victoria, Box Hill 

14. Matt McTaggart, NSW, Easts 

15. Mack Hansen, ACT Gungahlin 


16. Matt Faessler, Queensland, Brothers 

17. Sama Malolo, Victoria, Endeavour Hills 

18. George Francis, NSW, Eastwood

19. Esei Ha’angana, Victoria, Melbourne Unicorns 

20. Pat Tafa, NSW, Norths 

21. Ryan Lonergan (vc), ACT, Vikings 

22. Bayley Kuenzle, NSW, Southern Districts 

23. Will Harrison, NSW, Randwick