Caslick to co-captain Sevens in Paris

Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Charlotte Caslick will co-captain the Aussie Sevens side in Paris, the final 2017-18 World Series leg.

Caslick will join Shannon Parry as one of the two official leaders, with Sharni Williams set to miss another tournament with injury.

Williams injured her ankle in the Commonwealth Games and has been unable to shake the niggle off.

She is one of three big name players still missing from the squad, with Alicia Quirk (knee) and Ellia Green also on the sidelines, hopeful of a return for July’s Sevens World Cup.

There is just one change to the squad from that which came second in the Langford Sevens last month, with Cassie Staples returning to the main squad, pushing Georgie Friedrichs into the 13th spot, with Lily Dick missing out.

Cassie Staples will make her debut in Langford. Photo: ARU MediaThe Aussies take on Fiji, Russia and Canada in their Paris pool, as they look to try and secure a World Series title, currently four points ahead of New Zealand in the standings.

John Manenti, who was officially installed as the team's permanent coach last week, said his side's destiny was in its own hands.

“I’ve been really happy with how we’ve prepared. We set some targets to work on and I’ve been happy with the work we’ve done.," he said.

"The ball is in our court now to finish the year strongly. 

“We know the challenge and we know the opposition. We have a tough Pool with Fiji, Russia and Canada.

“Our first goal is to get through the Pool in good shape and then we will take it from there.”

The Paris Sevens kicks off on Friday June 8, running until Sunday June 10.


IN: Cassie Staples

OUT: Lily Dick     

Australian women’s Sevens squad for Paris Sevens

1.Shannon Parry, co-captain, 27 caps QLD and Griffith University

2.Yasmin Meakes, 2 caps, ACT and University of Canberra

3. Demi Hayes, 6 caps, QLD and Griffith University

4. Dominique Du Toit, 9 caps, QLD and Macquarie University

5. Emma Tonegato, 21 caps, NSW and University of Adelaide

6. Evania Pelite, 17 caps, QLD and University of Adelaide 

7. Charlotte Caslick, co-captain, 25 caps, QLD and Bond University

8. Page McGregor, 2 caps, NSW and Macquarie University 

9. Emma Sykes, 9 caps, QLD and University of Queensland

10. Lauren Brown, 2 caps, QLD and Griffith University

11. Emilee Cherry, 28 caps, QLD and University of Queensland

12. Cassandra Staples, 6 caps, NSW and University of Canberra 

13. Georgina Friedrichs, 10 caps, QLD and University of Tasmania


All times AEST

Friday June 8 

Australia vs Fiji, 10:44pm AEST 

Saturday June 9 

Australia vs Russia, 1:28am AEST

Australia v Canada, 4:12am AEST