Junior Wallabies named to face Wales

World Rugby U20s Championship
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

The Junior Wallabies have named their side to take on Wales in their World Rugby U20s opener on Thursday morning (AEST).

Rebels outside back Semisi Tupou will play his first Junior Wallabies match in 2018, as one of four changes to the side that faced New Zealand in the final of April's Oceania U20s.

Queensland lock Angus Blyth will take the starting place of Harry Hockings, with the latter unavailable with Super Rugby duties.

Winger James Ramm, who replaced Jordan Petaia in the World Championship squad, comes straight into the starting side for the clash, with Isiah Latu moved to the bench.

The Junior Wallabies are leaving for the World U20s Championships on Sunday. photo: SportographyAn injury to backrower Josh Nasser has ruled him out of the tournament, replaced by Lawrence Tominiko on the pine, while Patrick Tafa is the other new face on the bench, replacing Justin Sikimeti.

Junior Wallabies coach Jason Gilmore said his side would need to be ready for a physical battle up front against Wales. 

“We’ve had a good preparation in the lead up to this match and the lads are looking forward to starting the World Championship," he said.

“Wales are a very tough side and we know that they have some big bodies and will use the set piece really well, so we will need to front up to the challenge.”

A win over Wales is critical for the Junior Wallabies, with only the top team of each pool and the best-placed runner-up making it through to the semi-finals, making each match effectively a must-win.

The Junior Wallabies take on Wales on Wednesday May 30 at 9pm local, Thursday May 31 5am, LIVE on FOX SPORTS.


1.Harry Hoopert, Queensland, Brothers 

2. Efi Maafu, Queensland, Wests

3. Tom Ross, ACT, Gungahlin

4. Trevor Hosea, Harlequins, Victoria 

5. Angus Blyth, Queensland, Bond University 

6. Esei Haangana, Victoria, Melbourne Unicorns

7. Fraser McReight, Queensland, Brothers

8. Josh Kemeny, NSW, Sydney University

9. Ryan Lonergan (c), ACT, Vikings

10. Bayley Kuenzle, NSW, Southern Districts

11. Matt McTaggart, NSW, Easts

12. Isaac Lucas, Queensland, Sunnybank

13. Semisi Tupou, Victoria, Box Hill

14. James Ramm, NSW, Randwick

15. Mack Hansen, ACT, Gungahlin


16. Sama Malolo, Victoria, Endeavour Hills

17. George Francis, NSW, Eastwood

18. Lawrence Tominiko, Queensland, Sunnybank

19. Michael Wood, Queensland, Brothers

20. Patrick Tafa, NSW, Norths

21. Tate McDermott, Queensland, University of Queensland

22. Will Harrison, NSW, Randwick

23. Isiah Latu, ACT, Queanbeyan