Log in

Late change for Junior Wallabies against Fiji

Fri, 27/04/2018, 5:25 am
Sam Phillips
by Sam Phillips
Junior Wallabies captain Ryan Longergan expects an exciting match against the renown entertainers Fiji. His side opens their U20 international season tomorrow night at Bond University in the Oceania Rugby U20s Championship.

Junior Wallabies coach Jason Gilmore has unveiled his first team of the year, as the Australians prepare to take on Fiji in their Oceania U20s Championship opener.

ACT halfback Ryan Lonergan was set to skipper the side that features plenty of fresh faces but a few familiar ones, too, but the nine was a late withdrawal on Friday, with muscle soreness.

Tate McDermott will start at halfback in Lonergan's place, for their Friday night clash.

Those familiar faces are largely in the backline, with Isaac Lucas and Len Ikitau named in the centres.

Rising Reds lock Angus Blyth has also been named in the second row, with teammate Tate McDermott to serve as Lonergan's deputy off the bench.Lonergan is a rising star in ACT. Photo: Getty Images"Fiji will present a strong challenge first up for us and we know that they can attack from anywhere," Gilmore said.

"The team has prepared well for this tournament and there is excitement to start our 2018 season on the Gold Coast."

The Junior Wallabies take on Fiji U20s at Bond University on Friday, kicking off at 7pm AEST, broadcast LIVE on RUGBY.com.au.


Junior Wallabies team to face Fiji

1. George Francis, Eastwood

2. Efi Maafu, Wests Bulldogs

3. Tom Ross, Gungahlin

4. Trevor Hosea, Harlequins

5. Angus Blyth, Bond University

6. Esei Haangana (vc), Melbourne Unicorns

7. Fraser McReight, Brothers

8. Patrick Tafa, Norths (Sydney)

9. Tate McDermott, University of Queensland 

10. Lawson Creighton, Brothers

11. Matt McTaggart, Easts

12. Isaac Lucas, Sunnybank

13. Len Ikitau, Vikings

14. James Ramm, Randwick

15. Mac Hansen, Gungahlin


16. Matt Faessler, Brothers

17. Charlie Hancock, Sydney University

18. Josh Nasser, University of Queensland

19. Hugh Margin, Gordon

20. Tom Kibble, GPS

21. Phoenix Hunt

22. Tony Hunt, Norths (Brisbane)

23. Tom Fuller, Randwick

Rugby.com.au Logo

The Rugby.com.au are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.