Super W: Queensland name team for final

Super W
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Queensland's women have made three changes to their side for Friday's Buildcorp Super W final against NSW.

The Queenslanders finished second in the regular season, with just one defeat at the hands of NSW, playing their last regular season game against WA three weeks ago.

Lock Jasmin Kemp and flyhalf Zahara Te Mara both come into the starting side for the first time in the competition, with usual 10 Lavinia Gould at openside flanker and Lucy Lockhart on the bench.

Queensland women's coach Michael Hayes says his team is keen to prove itself. Photo: Getty imagesQueensland women's coach Michael Hayes said his team was desperate to prove itself against NSW.

"For such a short competition, a lot of work has gone into the program to get the team to this point, where they have the opportunity to be part of history in the inaugural Super W final," he said.

“After going down to NSW in our round one match at Suncorp Stadium, the team have grown and developed, both on and off the field, and I know the group are hungry for another crack.

“We’ve made some adjustments to the team this week, with the aim of putting together a squad that can both start and finish the game for us.

“We’re fortunate to welcome Zehara Te Mara into the side to offer us a point of difference in our attack, while Lavinia (Gould) has plenty of experience on the side of the scrum prior to her time in the Super W.

“Jasmin (Kemp) has been working hard behind the scenes to earn her place in the squad and will bring with her a physical presence."

NSW will host the Super W final on Friday at Allianz Stadium, kicking off at 4:45pm AEST, LIVE on FOX SPORTS. Buy tickets here.


Queensland women to face NSW women

1. Liz Patu – Wests

2. Cheyenne Campbell – Redlands

3. Wynona Baice – Wests

4. Kiri Lingman – Sunnybank

5. Jasmin Kemp – Helensvale*

6. Kirby Sefo (C) – Sunnybank

7. Lavinia Gould – Sunnybank

8. Alexandra Hargreaves – Helensvale

9. Asako Ono – University of Queensland

10. Zahara Te Mara – Helensvale*

11. Ivania Wong – Sunnybank

12. Nareta Marsters – Sunnybank

13. Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea – Sunnybank

14. Lori Cramer – University of Queensland

15. Samantha Treherne – Sunnybank


16. Toa Filimoehala – Brothers

17. Hana Ngaha – Sunnybank

18. Vuanimasei Rasolea - GPS

19. Shannon Mato – Sunnybank

20. Ashlee Knight – Wests

21. Lucy Lockhart – Wests

22. Ana Afuie - Sunnybank

23. Sarah Riordan – Wests

*Denotes starting Super W debut