Fakaosilea the star of Queensland squad

Mon, 12/02/2018, 02:00 am
Sam Phillips
by Sam Phillips
It was a huge hit followed by a match winning try from 17-year-old Alysia Fakaosilea that ensured Queensland earned redemption for NSW's Brisbane Tens win in 2017. The match going deep into extra time in what was an absolute thriller at Suncorp.

Fresh off a triumphant start to the year at the Brisbane Tens, Queensland women's XV coach Michael Hayes has named his squad for the inaugural Super W.

Hayes has nine Wallaroos in his 30-woman squad but it's the inclusion of boom rookie Alysia Fakaosilea that will excite Queensland fans.

Fakaosilea was the star of Queensland's remarkable golden point win against NSW in the Tens final, delivering a shot on Olivia Brooks that had to be seen to be believed before scoring the match winner in the next 60 seconds.

The 17-year-old is one of 13 players that took part in the Aon Uni 7s in Hayes' squad, which features a balanced mix of youth and experience.

"We’ve assembled a really strong squad ahead of the inaugural Super W competition with a range of experience and youthful energy," Hayes said.

"We’re lucky to have some seasoned Women’s XV campaigners who have already represented their country, who can act as role models for some of our younger players emerging from various pathways such as Sevens.

"We’re fortunate that Queensland has some quality club competitions with healthy rivalries, which has helped lift the standard of the game in the state.

"We’ve worked hard so far this year to challenge the girls and their traditional ways of playing the game, and we began to see the results of that in our performances over the weekend.

"The XVs game is obviously a different beast to the Tens, but we’ve laid some solid building blocks for the season ahead. It’s an exciting time to be involved in Women’s Rugby."


Queensland squad for Super W


Cheyenne Campbell*

Ivy Kaleta


Bree-anna Cheatham

Hana Ngaha*

Liz Patu*

Toa Filimoehala

Vuanumasei Rasolea

Wynona Baice


Ashlee Knight

Phoebe Thomas

Shannon Mato


Jasmine Kemp

Kirby Sefo*

Kiri Lingman*

Lucy Lockhart


Ana Afuie

Asako Ono

Tallisha Harden

Zahara Temara


Eseta Aho-Fangaloka

Sarah Riordan*


Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea

Alana Elisaia

Ivania Wong

Lori Cramer

Marioulla Belessis

Nareta Marsters*

Samantha Treherne*

Sasha Hallet-Mahuika

*Denotes capped Wallaroos

Aussie Women claim repeat gold as men fall to South Africa in Cup Final
Wallaby Douglas urges Bordeaux-Begles to 'rock up in defence' against Toulouse
Both Sevens sides have ended day one undefeated. Photo: Mike Lee/World Rugby
Australia Sevens teams flying in Dubai
Mature Mogg looking to show off development on Brumbies return
Rugby.com.au Logo

The Rugby.com.au are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.