Larmour caps meteoric rise with Ireland spot

Rugby World Cup
by AAP

Jordan Larmour was the only new name included in a strong Ireland squad for the opening games of next month's Six Nations, capping a meteoric rise for the 20-year-old fullback, who only made his Leinster debut four months ago.

Larmour, still a member of the province's youth academy, has exploded onto the PRO14 stage this season, scoring six tries in seven starts, including two stunning solo efforts against local rivals Munster and Ulster in recent weeks.

The speedy Larmour, who can also play on the wing and has drawn comparisons to England's Jason Robinson and Christian Cullen of New Zealand, only made his European bow at the weekend but that was enough for Ireland coach Joe Schmidt to include him in his initial 36-man squad.

Sean O'Brien was effective for Ireland. Photo: AFPSchmidt's side open their Six Nations campaign in France on February 3 and host Italy a week later.

They will be without back-row forwards Sean O'Brien, Rhys Ruddock, Tommy O'Donnell and Jamie Heaslip - and centres Garry Ringrose and Jared Payne - who are all absent through injury.

Ireland, however, have been stockpiling depth in those two positions in particular with the opening fixtures potentially giving centres Bundee Aki and Chris Farrell and flankers Dan Leavy and Josh van der Flier a chance to impress.

"It's been great to witness some quality performances from provincial teams over the last seven weeks of European and derby matches, with a number of players performing well," Schmidt said in a statement on Tuesday.

"There were some very tight decisions but it's great to see some competitive depth in a number of positions."


Ireland Six Nations squad


Rory Best

Jack Conan

Sean Cronin

Ultan Dillane

Tadhg Furlong

Cian Healy

Iain Henderson

Rob Herring

Dave Kilcoyne

Dan Leavy

Jack McGrath

Jordi Murphy

Peter O'Mahony

Andrew Porter

Quinn Roux

James Ryan

John Ryan

CJ Stander

Devin Toner

Josh van der Flier


Bundee Aki

Joey Carbery

Andrew Conway

Keith Earls

Chris Farrell

Robbie Henshaw

Rob Kearney

Ian Keatley

Jordan Larmour

Kieran Marmion

Fergus McFadden

Luke McGrath

Conor Murray

Johnny Sexton

Rory Scannell

Jacob Stockdale.