Coetzee bloods fresh faces

by AFP

South Africa coach Allister Coetzee has made 11 changes to his team for their final Test of the season against Wales in Cardiff on Saturday.

Warrick Gelant, who impressed as a second-half replacement in the 35-6 victory over Italy last week, and Dan du Preez will get their first starts for the Springboks, at wing and No 8 respectively.

In all, Coetzee on Thursday unveiled five changes to the starting line-up for the match at the Principality Stadium, four are among the forwards.

Steven Kitshoff replaces injured prop Tendai Mtawarira (groin), Malcolm Marx has shrugged off his shoulder problem to take over hooking duties from Bongi Mbonambi, who drops to the bench and Siya Kolisi is back after missing the Italy Test to take parental leave.Allister Coetzee has chopped and changed ahead of the clash with Wales. Photo: Getty ImagesThe game falls outside the international window, and Kolisi and Du Preez replace players who have had to return to their European clubs -Bath flanker Francois Louw and Toulon No.8 Duane Vermeulen.

Elsewhere, the uncapped duo of Lukhanyo Am (centre) and Louis Schreuder (scrumhalf) will join Mbonambi on the bench as two of the changes among the replacements, with Uzair Cassiem, Oupa Mohoje and Ruan Dreyer also included in the match day squad.

"It will be a different challenge altogether this week - Wales are renowned for their passing game and their width on attack," said Coetzee.

Eben Etzebeth will captain the Springboks for the 11th time this season from lock, Ross Cronje partnering Handre Pollard at half-back.


Springboks team for clash with Wales

1. Steven Kitshoff

2. Malcolm Marx

3. Wilco Louw

4. Eben Etzebeth (C)

5. Lood de Jager

6. Siya Kolisi

7. Pieter-Steph du Toit

8. Dun du Preez

9. Ross Cronje

10. Handre Pollard

11. Warwick Gelant

12. Francois Venter

13. Jesse Kriel

14. Dillyn Leyds

15. Andries Coetzee


16. Bongi Mbonambi

17. Trevor Nyakane

18. Ruan Dreyer

19. Teboho Mohoje

20. Uzair Cassiem

21. Louis Schreuder

22. Elton Jantjies

23. Lukhanyo Am

Wales team for clash with South Africa

1. Rob Evans

2. Kristian Dacey

3. Scott Andrews

4. Cory Hill

5. Alun Wyn Jones (C)

6. Aaron Shingler

7. Josh Navidi

8. Taulupe Faletau

9. Aled Davies

10. Dan Biggar

11. Steff Evans

12. Hadleigh Parkes

13. Scott Williams

14. Hallam Amos

15. Leigh Halfpenny


16. Elliot Dee

17. Wyn Jones

18. Rhodri Jones

19. Seb Davies

20. Dan Lydiate

21. Rhys Webb

22. Rhys Patchell

23. Owen Watkin