Four starting changes for Scotland

by AFP

Scotland have made four changes to its team to face the Wallabies, after pushing New Zealand to the final seconds last weekend.

Lock Grant Gilchrist replaces Australian-born Ben Toolis in the starting lineup, while injured winger Sean Maitland has come straight back into the starting team for the clash.

No. 8 Ryan Wilson comes back into the starting backrow, after missing the New Zealand match with a shoulder injury, and prop Simon Berghan comes into the front row for his first Test start.

Inside centre Alex Dunbar and reserve front rower Zander Fagerson are both yet to completely cleared of head knocks, but coach Gregor Townsend said he was confident the pair would play on Sunday morning (AEDT).

Ryan Wilson will be back in the Scotland side this weekend. Photo: Getty ImagesAfter a tense clash with New Zealand last weekend, where Scotland fell just one try short of an upset win, Townsend said the next challenge was to ensure they could back up an effort like that against another top three team.

"It’s moving on – we play the current number three team in the world – arguably the best attacking team in the world," he said.

"Australia beat New Zealand a few weeks ago, they were very good against Wales and had a lot of the game on a wet day against England, so we know we are playing one of the form teams in the world right now. If we drop our standards we are not going to win.

"We’ve got to have the same endeavour, the same mind-set, the defensive performance in the first half especially, and what we did in the second half attack-wise – and then take it to another level."

Townsend said their final November match was a chance for his players to show they could rebound after a shattering loss, something the Wallabies will be out to prove too after a disappointing final scoreline against England.

"That’s the benefit of having another game this week. It is great for our guys that they get to go again," Townsend said.

"Yes, they are disappointed that they didn’t get the win but we have another opportunity as a group to play a brilliant side and work to find a way to win."

Australia will name its team on Friday morning (AEDT), ahead of Sunday morning (AEDT)'s clash.

The Wallabies take on Scotland on Saturday November 25, kicking off at 2:30pm local. Sunday 1:30am AEDT LIVE on beIN Sports and SBS Viceland.


Scotland to face Wallabies

1. Darryl Marfo (Edinburgh Rugby) - 2 caps

2. Stuart McInally (Edinburgh Rugby) - 11 caps

3. Simon Berghan (Edinburgh Rugby) - 4 caps

4. Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh Rugby) - 17 caps

5. Jonny Gray (Glasgow Warriors) - 37 caps

6. John Barclay (Scarlets) - 65 caps

7. Hamish Watson (Edinburgh Rugby) - 14 caps

8. Ryan Wilson (Glasgow Warriors) - 31 caps

9. Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) - 10 caps

10. Finn Russell (Glasgow Warriors) - 31 caps

11. Sean Maitland (Saracens) - 28 caps

12. Alex Dunbar (Glasgow Warriors) - 28 caps

13. Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) - 10 caps

14. Tommy Seymour (Glasgow Warriors) - 38 caps

15. Stuart Hogg (Glasgow Warriors) - 55 caps


16. Fraser Brown (Glasgow Warriors) - 28 caps

17. Jamie Bhatti (Glasgow Warriors) - 2 caps

18. Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) - 14 caps

19. Ben Toolis (Edinburgh Rugby) - 6 caps

20. Cornell du Preez (Edinburgh Rugby) - 4 caps

21. Henry Pyrgos (Glasgow Warriors) - 26 caps

22. Pete Horne (Glasgow Warriors) - 27 caps

23. Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks) - 1 cap