Williams admits to rules blunder

International
AAP
by AAP

Sonny Bill Williams admits he's had no defence to ribbing from team-mates following his bizarre yellow card offence against France in Paris.

He simply didn't know the rules.

Williams spoke publicly for the first time since his deliberate batting of a French kick over the dead ball line resulted in a stint in the sin bin and a penalty try to the hosts.

The act also sparked France's second half revival although the All Blacks still emerged comfortable 38-18 winners.

Sonny Bill Williams said he had made a mistake against France. Photo: Getty ImagesWilliams says he was guilty as charged to claims of ignorance. In his former code, rugby league, players can legally bat the ball dead.

"It was just an honest mistake, as humans we're allowed to make them," Williams said.

"I remember laying on the ground. I looked up at (Damian McKenzie) and I said 'bro, am I allowed to do that?' He looked at me and he shook his head."

Williams revealed match referee Angus Gardner later informed him he shouldn't have been shown a yellow card for the incident. The Australian whistler told Williams the penalty try should have been sufficient punishment.

"It is what it is, that's footy," Williams said.

"But I've certainly been looking up the rule books."

All Blacks and Blues team-mate Rieko Ioane ensured the jibes continued for another day at the press conference, highlighting Williams many and varied career sporting pursuits.

"He forgets what sport he's playing sometimes," Ioane said.

"He does boxing and league. He changes up between the three every now and then. But we'll forgive him for that."