New faces dominate Wales team

Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Wales will have seven British and Irish Lions players in their side to take on the Wallabies, named on Thursday.

Flanker Justin Tipuric and halfback Rhys Webb have both failed to shake off injuries ahead of the match, with the pair left out of the 23.

Cardiff's Josh Navidi will replace Tipuric in the starting side, while Gareth Davies will step into  Webb's shoes at Millennium Stadium.

Warren Gatland has opted for a dual playmaking 10-12 combination, as flagged earlier this week, with Owen Williams playing outside Dan Biggar at inside centre, while Jonathan Davies is a handy inclusion at 13.

"We are really looking forward to Saturday and getting the Under Armour Series underway,” Gatland said.

“I’m delighted for Steff Evans, Owen Williams and Josh Navidi that they get their first start at home, the atmosphere will be fantastic and it’s a great opportunity for them.

“It’s going to be a tough first up game, we know that and we need to be up and running.  We have a squad that’s packed with talent and is on form and we are excited to see what they can do.”

The Welsh bench is light on experience, with three potential debutants in the reserives in Owen Watkins, Sam Cross and Leon Brown.

Wales hasn't beaten Australia since 2008 and they haven't won their opening end-of-year Test since 2002 against Romania.

Australia takes on Wales at Millennium Stadium on Saturday November 11, kicking off at 5:15pm local, Sunday 4:15am AEDT LIVE on beIn Sports and SBS.


Wales to take on the Wallabies

1. Rob Evans (Scarlets) (17 Caps)

2. Ken Owens (Scarlets) (50 Caps)

3. Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs) (23 Caps)

4. Jake Ball (Scarlets) (26 Caps)

5. Alun Wyn Jones (CAPT) (Ospreys) (110 Caps)

6. Aaron Shingler (Scarlets) (10 Caps)

7. Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues) (3 Caps)

8. Taulupe Faletau (Bath) (66 Caps)

9. Gareth Davies (Scarlets) (26 Caps)

10. Dan Biggar (Ospreys) (56 Caps)

11. Steff Evans (Scarlets) (2 Caps)

12. Owen Williams (Gloucester) (1 Cap)

13. Jonathan Davies (Scarlets) (64 Caps)

14. Liam Williams (Saracens) (43 Caps)

15. Leigh Halfpenny (Scarlets) (71 Caps)


16. Kristian Dacey (Cardiff Blues) (4 Caps)

17. Nicky Smith (Ospreys) (14 Caps)

18. Leon Brown (Dragons) (*UNCAPPED)

19. Cory Hill (Dragons) (6 Caps)

20. Sam Cross (Ospreys) (*UNCAPPED)

21. Aled Davies (Scarlets) (2 Caps)

22. Owen Watkin (Ospreys) (*UNCAPPED)

23. Hallam Amos (Dragons) (11 Caps)