Senate inquiry to begin on Wednesday

Super Rugby
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

The Senate inquiry into the future of Australian rugby is set to kick off on Wednesday morning.

Two weeks ago, Australia's senate approved a motion from WA senator Linda Reynolds to open an inquiry into the ARU's process in axing the Western Force.

The inquiry is set to look at a number of different aspects of the ARU's strategy and transparency when it came to the decision, including:

* ARU board deliberations leading to the decision to reduce Australian teams from five to four

* Whether there continues to be a truly national rugby footprint in Australia

* The role of national and state-based bodies in encouraging greater national participation in rugby

* The corporate governance arrangements and composition of national and state-based rugby bodies, including community representation on those bodies

* The impact of the decision to reduce the number of Australian teams on national participation in rugby.

ARU CEO Bill Pulver will be the first witness, testifying at 8:30am AWST, 10:30am AEST, with Western Force general manager Mark Sinderberry called to appear at 11am AWST, 1pm AEST. 

Though the initial hearing is expected to conclude in the next two days, the public and Australia's other Super Rugby franchises are able to make submissions to the inquiry until October 12.

A second public hearing is set to be held on October 11, with the results of the inquiry to be revealed on November 13.

To watch the hearing live, click here.