Hewson returns for Ireland rematch

Womens Rugby World Cup
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Wallaroos veteran Ash Hewson will return to the Wallaroos' side for their fifth-place semi-final against Ireland.

Hewson will take the playmaking role, after missing the past two matches with injury, in the Wallaroos' most experienced 23 ever, with a total of 196 Test caps.

The flyhalf is the only new face in the 23, but coach Paul Verrell has reshuffled his starting pack for the rematch against the hosts.

Lock Rebecca Clough will start in the second row, partnering Alisha Hewett, pushing youngster Millie Boyle into blindside flanker and Mollie Gray into the reserves.

The Wallaroos have named an experienced 23. Photo: ARU MediaCoach Paul Verrell said he hoped the side could build on a 29-15 win over Japan. 

"As we approach this match against Ireland once again we’ve tried to make minimal changes to create some cohesion amongst the group. The girls played some good Rugby against Japan and we’re hoping they can build upon that,” Verrell said.

“We’ve been able to welcome back Ashleigh Hewson into the squad this week which is a positive, as she brings with her a wealth of knowledge and experience.

“Rebecca Clough’s return to the starting side is also reward for the effort she has been putting in on and off the field.

“While we’re out of semi-finals contention, the team is focused on finishing the World Cup as highly ranked as we can, and to have a second chance against Ireland after a two-point loss, this match provides us with a chance for some redemption.”

The Wallaroos take on Ireland on Tuesday night, kicking off at 11pm AEST, LIVE on FOX SPORTS..


IN: Ash Hewson

OUT: Ashleigh Timoko

Wallaroos side to face Ireland:

1. Liz Patu – Queensland, Wests – 15 Test Caps

2. Cheyenne Campbell – Queensland, Redlands – 15 Test Caps

3. Hilisha Samoa – Queensland, Brothers – 6 Test Caps

4. Alisha Hewett – Australian Defence Force, Queensland, GPS – 16 Test Caps

5. Rebecca Clough – Western Australia, Cottesloe – 14 Test Caps

6. Millie Boyle – ACT, Canberra Royals – 6 Test Caps

7. Chloe Butler – South Australia, Parramatta – 12 Test Caps

8. Grace Hamilton – Sydney, Sydney University – 7 Test Caps

9. Katrina Barker – NSW Country, Newcastle University – 8 Test Caps

10. Ashleigh Hewson – Sydney, Sydney University – 16 Test Caps

11. Mahalia Murphy – Australian Sevens, NSW, Campbell Town – 3 Test Caps

12. Sharni Williams – Australian Sevens, ACT, Canberra Royals – 17 Test Caps

13. Sarah Riordan – Australian Defence Force, Victoria, Melbourne Unicorns – 7 Test Caps

14. Nareta Marsters – Queensland, Sunnybank – 7 Test Caps

15. Samantha Treherne – Queensland, Sunnybank – 6 Test Caps


16. Emily Robinson – Sydney, Warringah – 4 Test Caps

17. Violeta Tupuola – ACT, Royals – 3 Test Caps

18. Hana Ngaha – Queensland, Sunnybank – 7 Test Caps

19. Mollie Gray – Australian Defence Force, NSW, Maitland – 11 Test Caps

20. Kate Brown – ACT, Tuggeranong Vikings – 1 Test Cap

21. Fenella Hake – Queensland, Redlands – 6 Test Caps

22. Kayla Sauvao – Sydney, Parramatta – 6 Test Caps

23. Trilleen Pomare – Western Australia, Wanneroo – 3 Test Caps