Murphy, Pomare to debut in World Cup opener

Womens Rugby World Cup
by Sam Phillips

Mahalia Murphy and Trilleen Pomare will make their Wallaroos debuts in the World Cup opener, named in the starting XV that will take on Ireland.

WA product Pomare will steer the side from flyhalf, with Murphy named on the left wing.

Murphy is one of three Aussie Sevens stars named in the starting XV, with Shannon Parry to captain the side from openside flanker and Sharni Williams set to line up inside of breakout star Kayla Sauvao in the centres.

Liz Patu, Cheyenne Campbell and Hilisha Samoa will form a power packed front row, with Chloe Butler and Millie Boyle named at lock.Mollie Gray will make her long awaited return. Photo: ARU Media/Brendan HertelMollie Gray makes her return to international rugby at blindside flanker alongside Parry and Grace Hamilton, who will start at No. 8.

Katrina Barker and Pomare form a new look halves combination, with Murphy, Nareta Masters and Samantha Treherne adding plenty of pace to the back three.


Wallaroos team to face Ireland

1. Liz Patu – Queensland, Wests

2. Cheyenne Campbell – Queensland, Redlands

3. Hilisha Samoa – Queensland, Brothers

4. Chloe Butler – South Australia, Parramatta

5. Millie Boyle – ACT, Canberra Royals

6. Mollie Gray – Australian Defence Force (ADRFU), NSW, Maitland

7. Shannon Parry – Australian Sevens, Queensland, Redlands

8. Grace Hamilton – Sydney, Sydney University

9. Katrina Barker – NSW Country, Newcastle University

10. Trilleen Pomare* – Western Australia, Wanneroo

11. Mahalia Murphy* – Australian Sevens, NSW, Campbelltown

12. Sharni Williams – Australian Sevens, ACT, Canberra Royals

13. Kayla Sauvao – Sydney, Parramatta

14. Nareta Marsters – Queensland, Sunnybank

15. Samantha Treherne – Queensland, Sunnybank


16. Emily Robinson – Sydney, Warringah

17. Violeta Tupuola – ACT, Canberra Royals

18. Hana Ngaha – Queensland, Sunnybank

19. Rebecca Clough – Western Australia, Cottesloe

20. Alisha Hewett – Australian Defence Force (ADRFU), Queensland, GPS

21. Fenella Hake – Queensland, Redlands

22. Sarah Riordan – Australian Defence Force (ADRFU), Victoria, Melbourne Unicorns

23. Ashleigh Hewson – Sydney, Sydney University

The Wallaroos start their Rugby World Cup campaign on Thursday, August 10 against Ireland at UCD Bowl, kicking off at 4am AEST, broadcast LIVE on FOX SPORTS.