They're breeding their own in Griffith

Uni 7s
by Jill Scanlon

Griffith University will field 12 current students in their 26-strong squad for the inaugural Aon Uni7s Series which gets underway with the first tournament in Tasmania at the end of August.

The 12 will join with 14 players from the local clubs of Sunnybank and Griffith Uni Knights.

In addition, as with the other seven University squads, Griffith’s line-up will be enhanced by the inclusion of two players from the national sevens squad - Shannon Parry and Demi Hayes.

Shannon Parry pushed for the change. Photo: Getty ImagesBoth Parry and Hayes have ties to the University, with Parry a former graduate in Education and Hayes undertaking a business degree, although currently on a leave of absence due to her rugby commitments.

The students who will be involved come from as many as 11 different areas of study at Griffith University as well as two additional sport development students who will take on team management roles.

There are some other familiar names in the line-up with Aussie Sevens development youngster Laura Waldie and Wallaroos recent debutante Sammy Treherne adding to the squad’s credentials.

In charge of the Griffith Uni7s team is Moana Virtue who has coached both the Queensland Women’s XVs and Sevens teams and earlier this year became the first woman in 15 years to complete the national Level 3 coaching accreditation.

The series kicks-off on 25 August in Launceston.


Griffith University

Lauren Brown

Katie Curtis

Ashleigh Cooksley

Eliza Flynn

Hanna Brennan

Taylor-Adeline Mapusua

Laura Waldie

Rachel Walsh

Jess Beer

Ellen Field

Taylah Maurice

Liza Cameron

Ana-Maria Afuie

Alana Elisaia

Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea

Phoebe Thomas

Vetekina Aho Fangaloka

Shannon Mato

Katie Brock

Samantha Treherne

Rhiannon Revell-Blair

Ivania Wong

Yolanda Gittins

Katelyn Sherrin

Tayla Eldridge

Eseta Aho Fangaloka

Shannon Parry

Demi Hayes.