Crusaders, Chiefs name teams for semi showdown

Super Rugby
by Sam Phillips

The Crusaders have named an unchanged starting XV to tackle the Chiefs in their semi final showdown.

The New Zealand Conference champions were hardly troubled by the Highlanders in their 17-0 quarter final win and as a result, coach Scott Robertson has elected to keep the run the same 15 players out on Saturday evening.

The Chiefs, in contrast, have tweaked the side that beat the Stormers in Cape Town.Charlie Ngatai will start on Saturday night. Photo: Getty ImagesCoach Dave Rennie has handed Charlie Ngatai the start at inside centre, relegating Stephen Donald to the bench.

Tim Nanai-Williams also comes in on the right wing, Solomon Alaimalo shifting to the bench.


Crusaders team to face the Chiefs

1. Joe Moody

2. Codie Taylor

3. Owen Franks 

4. Scott Barrett

5. Sam Whitelock (C)

6. Jordan Taufua

7. Matt Todd

8. Kieran Read

9. Bryn Hall

10. Richie Mo’unga

11. Seta Tamanivalu

12. Ryan Crotty

13. Jack Goodhue

14. Israel Dagg

15. David Havili


16. Ben Funnell

17. Wyatt Crockett

18. Michael Alaalatoa

19. Luke Romano

20. Pete Samu

21. Mitchell Drummond

22. Mitchell Hunt

23. George Bridge

Chiefs team to face the Crusaders

1. Kane Hames

2. Nathan Harris

3. Nepo Laulala

4. Mitchell Brown

5. Brodie Retallick

6. Liam Messam

7. Sam Cane (co-captain)

8. Michael Leitch

9. Tawera Kerr-Barlow

10 Aaron Cruden (co-captain)

11. James Lowe

12. Charlie Ngatai

13. Anton Lienert-Brown

14. Tim Nanai-Williams

15. Damian McKenzie


16. Liam Polwart

17. Aidan Ross

18. Atu Moli

19. Dominic Bird

20. Lachlan Boshier

21. Finlay Christie

22. Stephen Donald

23. Shaun Stevenson