Brumbies deploy cotton wool for final round

Super Rugby
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

 The Brumbies have made a swathe of changes for their final regular season clash against the Chiefs on Saturday.

With a quarter-final berth already secured, Brumbies coach Stephen Larkam has opted to leave out Wallabies prop Allan Alaalatoa and locks Rory Arnold and Sam Carter among eight changes to the side.

The loss of Kyle Godwin (knee) and Aidan Toua (ankle) has forced a backline reshuffle as well, with Andrew Smith lining up at inside centre and Jordan Jackson-Hope named for his starting debut.

Teenager Ryan Lonergan, who made his John I Dent cup debut for Tuggeranong last weekend, will come off the bench for the Brumbies, with Tomas Cubelli returning to the starting spot for the first time this year.

A win over the Chiefs would potentially pit the Brumbies against the defending champion Hurricanes in their final eight clash, while a loss would see them go up against the Chiefs for the second week in a row in Canberra.

The Brumbies take on the Chiefs in Hamilton on Saturday, kicking off at 3:15pm AEST LIVE on FOX SPORTS.


IN: Ryan Lonergan, Jordan Jackson-Hope, Tom Staniforth, Lolo Fakaosilea, James Dargaville, Ben Hyne, Tom Cusack, Nic Mayhew

OUT: Allan Alaalatoa, Joe Powell, Kyle Godwin, Aidan Toua, Chris Alcock, Rory Arnold, Sam Carter, Tevita Kuridrani

Brumbies team to face the Chiefs

1. Nic Mayhew

2. Robbie Abel

3. Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin

4. Tom Staniforth

5. Blake Enever

6. Scott Fardy (C)

7. Jarrad Butler

8. Lolo Fakaosilea

9. Tomas Cubelli

10. Wharenui Hawera

11. James Dargaville

12. Andrew Smith

13. Nigel Ah Wong

14. Henry Speight

15. Jordan Jackson-Hope


16. Josh Mann-Rea

17. Scott Sio

18. Ben Alexander

19. Ben Hyne

20. Tom Cusack

21. Jordan Smiler

22. Ryan Lonergan

23. Tom Banks