Fiji joins Wallabies World Cup pool

Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

The Wallabies' 2019 World Cup picture is looking a little bit clearer, after Fiji qualified for the tournament on Saturday.

Fiji beat Tonga in a tight 14-10 clash to take out the Pacific Nations Cup and the top Oceania qualifying spot for 2019.

The result means Fiji will fill the fourth spot in Pool D, joining two of their 2015 pool mates in Australia and Wales, along with Georgia.

One of either Canada or Uruguay will complete the set, as the second Americas qualifier after the USA took out the North American qualifying tournament last week.

Samoa and Tonga will fight it out for the second Oceania spot that would pit them against England, Argentina, France and the USA in 2019.


2019 Rugby World Cup

Pool A: Ireland, Scotland, Japan, Europe 1, Play-Off Winner

Pool B: New Zealand, South Africa, Italy, Africa 1, Repechage Winner (Europe vs Oceania)

Pool C: England, France, Argentina, USA, Oceania 2 (Samoa/Tonga)

Pool D: Australia, Wales, Georgia, Fiji, Americas 2 (Canada/Uruguay)