Wallaroos chop and change ahead of Canada clash

by Sam Phillips

Paul Verrell has made nine changes to the starting XV that will face Canada in the Wallaroos' final match of the International Women's Rugby Series.

Verrell has made it very clear that this tournament will be used as a tune up before the Women's Rugby World Cup in Ireland in August, so the number of different combinations being tested are of little surprise.

The changes mean standout hooker Cheyenne Campbell will captain her country for the first time, with regular skipper Ashleigh Hewson rotated to the bench.Cheyenne Campbell will captain the Wallaroos tomorrow morning. Photo: ARU Media/Brendan HertelCampbell will pack down alongside first time starter Violeta Tupuola, with Evelyn Horomia named at tighthead.

Rebecca Clough comes back in at lock alongside Millie Boyle, with Sunnybank product Kiri Lingman getting her first start at blindside flanker.

Cobie-Jane Morgan shifts back to halfback after scoring a spectacular try on the wing against the Black Ferns, Sarah Riordan gets her first start at outside centre, while the back three has a completely different look with Natasha Haines, Nareta Masters and Samantha Treherne looking to add some attacking firepower.

The Wallaroos take on Canada in Rotorua tomorrow, kicking off at 10:30am AEST, broadcast LIVE on worldrugby.org.


Wallaroos team to face Canada

1. Violeta Tupuola, ACT, 1 Test

2. Cheyenne Campbell (C), Queensland, 11 Tests

3. Evelyn Horomia, Sydney, 1 Test

4. Rebecca Clough (VC), Western Australia, 12 Tests

5. Millie Boyle, ACT, 2 Tests

6. Kiri Lingman, Queensland, 2 Tests

7. Chloe Butler, Souths Australian Barbarians, 8 Tests

8. Victoria Latu, Sydney, 2 Tests

9. Cobie-Jane Morgan (VC), Sydney, 15 Tests

10. Fenella Hake, Queensland, 2 Tests

11. Natasha Haines, Western Australian, 8 Tests

12. Kayla Sauvao, Sydney, 2 Tests

13. Sarah Riordan, NSW, ADF, 3 Tests

14. Nareta Marsters, Queensland, 3 Tests

15. Samantha Treherne, Queensland, 2 Tests


16. Liz Patu, Queensland, 11 Tests

17. Hilisha Samoa, Queensland, 2 Tests

18. Hana Ngaha, Queensland, 3 Tests

19. Alisha Hewett, Queensland, ADF, 12 Tests

20. Grace Hamilton, Sydney, 3 Tests

21. Katrina Barker, NSW Country, 4 Tests

22. Huia Swannell, Western Australia, 1 Test

23. Ashleigh Hewson, Sydney, 14 Tests