Stars return to Aussie U20s for England clash

World Rugby U20s Championship
by Sam Phillips

Simon Cron has named a star studded Australian U20s side that will take on England tonight.

Cron rested several stars with an eye to the pivotal clash with the old enemy but this team is almost identical to the one that beat Wales.

The only change to that team is a forced one.

Simon Kennewell has failed a fitness test on his hamstring and that means Semisi Tupou gets his chance to shine on the left wing.Sione Tuipulotu is back at inside centre. Photo: ARU Media/Levan VerdzeuliCody Walker will pack down with Shambeckler Vui and Jordan Uelese in the front row, with Ryan McCauley and Harry Hockings named at lock.

The all-Queensland backrow of Angus Scott-Young, Liam Wright and Reece Hewat will start, with Harrison Goddard coming in for Harry Nucifora at halfback.

He will combine with Hamish Stewart in the halves, while Sione Tuipulotu and Izaia Perese will line up in the centres.

Tupou will form one third of the back three, with Aussie Sevens stars Henry Hutchison and Liam McNamara also named.

The Australian U20s take on England U20s tomorrow morning in Georgia, kicking off at 2:30am AEST, broadcast LIVE on FOX SPORTS.


1. Cody Walker, NSW Gen Blue, Easts

2. Jordan Uelese, Melbourne Rebels, Melbourne University

3. Shambeckler Vui, Western Force, University of WA

4. Ryan McCauley, NSW Gen Blue, Easts

5. Harry Hockings, Queensland U20s, University of Queensland

6. Angus Scott-Young (VC), Queensland U20s, University of Queensland

7. Liam Wright, Queensland U20s, Easts

8. Reece Hewat (C), Queensland U20s, Norths

9. Harrison Goddard, Melbourne Rebels U20s, Randwick

10. Hamish Stewart (VC), Queensland Reds, Bond University

11. Semisi Tupou, Melbourne Rebels U20s, Box Hill

12. Sione Tuipulotu, Melbourne Rebels U20s, Southern Districts

13. Izaia Perese, Queensland Reds, Easts

14. Henry Hutchison, Australian Sevens, Randwick

15. Liam McNamara, Australian Sevens, Sunnybank


16. Efi Maafu, Queensland U20s, Wests

17. Harry Johnson-Holmes, NSW Gen Blue U20s, Sydney University

18. Gavin Luka, Queensland U20s, Bond University

19. Lachlan Swinton, NSW Gen Blue U20s, Sydney University

20. Rob Valetini, Brumbies, Wests

21. Harry Nucifora, Queensland U20s, Bond University

22. Nick Jooste, Brumbies U20s, Wests

23. Dylan Riley, Queensland U20s, Bond University