Cron switches team up again for Kiwis

Fri, 05/05/2017, 08:46 am
Beth Newman
by Beth Newman
Reece Hewat and Luke Jacobson will face off as trans-Tasman captains. Photo: Oceania Rugby

Simon Cron has made a handful of changes for his side's final Oceania U20s clash, against an intimidating New Zealand side.

With injuries depleting Australia's Super Rugby sides, the Aussies will be missing some of their first-choice players but Cron said he didn't want that to affect his side on Saturday.

"It doesn’t change the way we prepare, we’ve got to balance or manage the ones physically we’ve got here now," he said.

"It’s just trying to balance it."

There'll be no last-minute additions for the New Zealand U20s to face Australia, with the Kiwis naming their team for the last Oceania clash.

New Zealand coach Craig Philpot said there would be no complacency despite the dominance of his side over Fiji and Samoa, a stark contrast to some tight affairs played out between Australia and their Pacific Island counterparts.

"Both sides enter the final unbeaten and we always have a lot of respect for Australian teams," he said.

"Australia have been impressive at set piece time, scoring plenty of tries through their lineout drives and off the back of a powerful scrum. 

"Our boys are particularly looking forward to the challenge up front.”

Australia takes on New Zealand on Saturday night, kicking off at 7pm AEST LIVE on


IN: Isaac Lucas, Jordan Uelese, James Ramm, Ryan McCauley

OUT: Ryan Lonergan, Len Ikatau, David Puchert, Angus Allen, Darcy Swain

Australia U20s to face New Zealand

1.      Harry Johnson-Holmes

2.      Jordan Uelese

3.      Harry Chapman

4.      Ryan McCauley

5.      Harry Hockings

6.      Angus Scott-Young (VC)

7.      Liam Wright

8.      Reece Hewat (C)

9.      Harry Nucifora

10.     Nick Jooste (vc)

11.     James Ramm

12.     Tony Hunt

13.     Dylan Riley

14.     Jayden Ngamanu

15.     Semisi Tupou


16.     Efi Maafu

17.     Sama Malolo

18.     Vaauli Faamausili

19.     Angus Blyth

20.     Lachlan Swinton

21.     Theo Strang

22.     Isaac Lucas

23.     Clay Uyen

New Zealand U20s to face Australia U20s

1.Ezekiel Lindenmuth  

2. Asafo Aumua

3. Pouri Rakete-Stones

4.Isaia Walker-Leawere

5. Sam Caird   

6. Dalton Papalii

7. Tom Christie  

8. Luke Jacobson (C)

9. Ereatara Enari (VC)

10. Tiaan Falcon 

11. Tima Faingaanuku

12. Orbyn Leger 

13. Tamati Tua 

14. Josh McKay

15. Will Jordan


16.JP Sauni

17. Harrison Allan

18. Alex Fidow 

19. Jacob Pierce

20. Marino Mikaele-Tu'u

21. Kemara Hauiti-Parapara        

22. Thomas Umaga-Jensen

23. Caleb Clarke  

Feleti Kaitu'u is refusing to be intimidated by his Kiwi counterparts Photo: Getty Images
Western Force refusing to back down against Kiwi opponents
The Rebels will be looking to feed Marika Koroibete the ball throughout Super Rugby Trans-Tasman | Getty Images
Rebels out to utilise Koroibete strengths
The Wallaroos have announced that they will face off with Samoa in a two-test series
Wallaroos announce two-test series with Samoa
Will Harrison is set to return for the Waratahs ahead of Super Rugby Trans-Tasman. Photo: Getty Images
Waratahs taking aggressive approach into Trans-Tasman as reinforcements emerge Logo

The are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.