Volavola to take the reins for Rebels

Super Rugby
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Fiji flyhalf Ben Volavola will have his first run at 10 for the Rebels this season, starting against the Kings.

Jack Debreczeni has been left out of the 23 altogether, with Jackson Garden-Bachop on the bench in the playmaking stakes.

Volavola came onto the wing for the Rebels for an injured Marika Koroibete against the Sharks, but has been moved into his preferred position with Koroibete back in the team.

In-form flanker Colby Faingaa has slotted straight back into the team after the birth of his daughter last week, pushing impressive rookie Will Miller to the bench.

Lock Dom Day makes his comeback from a back injury, while prop Toby Smith will play his first match of 2017 after injuring his hamstring in a preseason trial against the Reds.

Sunday morning's match-up with the Kings is the Rebels' first game in Port Elizabeth, having met the Kings just once in Super Rugby - a three-point loss in 2013.

Rebels coach Tony McGahan was happy to finally be welcoming players into the side rather than announcing more long injury layoffs, after a start where close to 16 players were unavailable at one point.

“It’s the first time in a while that we’ve been able to get some quality and experienced players back," he said. 

“The bench had a big part to play last week against the Sharks and they’ll have another big game to play this week.”

The Rebels take on the Kings on Sunday morning, kicking off at 3:30am AEST LIVE on FOX SPORTS and via radio on RUGBY.com.au.


IN: Colby Faingaa, Toby Smith, Dominic Day, Marika Koroibete

OUT: Jack Debreczeni, Tom Moloney, Esei Hangaana, Sione Tuipulotu

Rebels team to take on the Kings

1. Fereti Sa’aga

2. Siliva Siliva

3. Tyrel Lomax

4. Culum Retallick

5. Steve Cummins

6. Jake Schatz

7. Colby Fainga'a

8. Amanaki Mafi

9. Nic Stirzaker (Captain)

10. Ben Volavola

11. Marika Koroibete

12. Mitch Inman

13. Tom English

14. Sefa Naivalu

15. Reece Hodge


16. James Hanson

17. Toby Smith

18. Laurie Weeks

19. Dominic Day

20. Will Miller

21. Hugh Sinclair

22. Mick Snowden

23. Jackson Garden-Bachop