Aussie U20s named for Oceania Championships

Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Queensland’s champion Super U20s team has dominated the squad for the upcoming U20s Oceania Championships, named on Tuesday.

The Reds’ undefeated underage side has 11 players in the 29-player squad, with NSW fielding eight players, ACT five and Victoria four.

Seven of last year's World Championship squad has been included in the squad for the competition that also involves New Zealand, Fiji and Samoa.

Super Rugby and Aussie Sevens duties have also shaped the final squad, with nine players unavailable because of their tournament duties - Sham Vui (Western Force), Jordan Uelese (Melbourne Rebels), Esei Haangana (Melbourne Rebels), Izaia Perese (Queensland Reds), Sione Tuipulotu (Melbourne Rebels), Liam McNamara (Aussie 7s), Henry Hutchinson (Aussie 7s), Simon Kennewell (Aussie 7s) and Lachlan Anderson (Aussie 7s)

The Aussies will be looking to build on a series last year in which they beat New Zealand for the first time at underage level.

Australia U20s coach Simon Cron said the tournament would be another step towards June’s World Championships in Georgia.

“We had a very short national camp last week and have coached some of the basic areas we need to do well to be successful,” - Simon Cron.

“As a squad we had a chance to work on some cohesiveness in our ball skills and talk about key fundamentals around which we will base our attack and defensive systems.

“We’ll head into camp on the Gold Coast on Tuesday 25 April and we need to continue on from where we left off.

“We have to keep building on the boys’ rugby brains as well as the tactical and technical coaching.”

“There are some great boys in the group and I am looking forward to working with them more in detail over the coming weeks.”

The Oceania Rugby championship kicks off on April 28 at Bond University, with Fiji and Samoa included in the tournament for the first time.


2017 Oceania Rugby U20s Championship fixtures

Round 1, Friday April 28

New Zealand vs Fiji, 5pm AEST

Australia vs Samoa, 7pm AEST

Round 2, Tuesday May 2

New Zealand vs Samoa, 3pm AEST

Australia vs Fiji, 5pm AEST

Round 3, Saturday May 6

Samoa vs Fiji, 5pm AEST

Australia vs New Zealand, 7pm AEST



Harry Johnson-Holmes, NSW

Harry Chapman, NSW

Vaauli Faamausili, Victoria

Dan Matthew, NSW


Tom Horton, NSW

Efi Maafu, Queensland

Sama Malolo, Western Australia 


Harry Hockings, Queensland

Angus Blyth, Queensland

Ryan McCauley, NSW

Darcy Swain, ACT


Lachlan Swinton, NSW

Angus Scott-Young, Queensland

Reece Hewat, Queensland

Liam Wright, Queensland

Angus Allen, ACT


Harry Nucifora, Queensland

Ryan Lonergan, ACT

Theo Strang, NSW


Hamish Stewart , Queensland

Jack McGregor, Victoria


Tony Hunt, Queensland

Nick Jooste, ACT

Dylan Riley, Queensland

Len Ikitau, ACT 


James Ramm, NSW

Jayden Ngamanu, Queensland 


Semisi Tupou, Victoria

Jack Maddocks, Victoria

All matches of the Oceania Tournament will be streamed LIVE on, Facebook and Oceania Rugby YouTube.