Super U20s Preview: Round Four

Super Rugby
by Sam Phillips

Round four of the Super U20s is highlighted by the top of the table clash of the old enemies - Queensland and NSW.

Undefeated last year, Queensland are two from two this year and will take on the unbeaten NSW Gen Blue at Wests in what looks to be their toughest test yet.

Queensland U20s coach Brad Thorn has made two changes to his starting XV.

Highly touted No.8 Reece Hewat will play his first game since captaining the 2015 Australian Schoolboys, having had a rough trot with injuries.

Bond Uni lock Angus Blyth also returns to the starting side.

With a home final on the line, NSW Gen Blue have named a similarly strong starting XV with Lachlan Swinton, Ryan McCauley and Esera Chee Kam the standouts in recent weeks.

The Queensland U20s take on NSW Gen Blue tomorrow at 2:50pm AEDT.

CLICK HERE to watch broadcast LIVE on


Queensland U20s team to take on NSW Gen Blue

1.Harry Hoopert 

2.Effie Ma’afu 

3.Gavin Luka 

4.Angus Blyth 

5.Harry Hockings

6.Angus Scott-Young 

7.Liam Wright (C) 

8.Reece Hewart 

9.Harry Nucifora

10.Hamish Stewart

11.Sam Edwards 

12.Tony Hunt 

13.Dylan Riley

14.Will Eadie

15.Jayden Ngamanu (VC)


16.Sean Farrell

17.Brayden Shiller

18.James Gall

19. Seru Masirewa Ganita

20. Patrick Tafa

21.Eli Pilz

22.Isaac Lucas

23.Lorenzo Skelton

NSW Gen Blue team to take on Queensland U20s

1. Cody Walker

2. Phillip Bradford

3. Harry Johnson-Holmes

4. Ryan McCauley

5. Tom Piroddi

6. Lachlan Swinton

7. Lachlan Simpson

8. Max Girdler

9. Theo Strang

10. Bailey Kuenzle

11. James Ramm

12. Daniel Boardman

13. Esera Chee Kam

14. Edward King

15. Tim Clements


16. Jack Nettleton

17. Harrison Chapman

18. Dan Matthews

19. Harry McLennan

20. Dom McGrath

21. Banjo Travers

22. Kepu Lokotui

23. Jackson Mohi

The Brumbies Colts have been narrowly beaten in their two matches. Photo: WalmsleyIn Canberra, both the Brumbies U20s and the Force U20s are in search of their first win when they clash at Portsea Oval at RMC.

The visitors tested NSW Gen Blue in the opening round but have failed to aim up since, while the home side have been narrowly beaten by Melbourne U20s and the aforementioned NSW team in their two starts.

Force U20s coach Dwayne Nestor has made sweeping changes to his team in search of results.

The Brumbies U20s host the Force U20s at Portsea Oval, kicking off at 2pm AEDT. 

CLICK HERE to watch broadcast LIVE on


Brumbies U20s team to take on the Force U20s

1. Charlie Hancock

2. Sam Thomas

3. Angus Wagner

4. Darcy Swain

5. Will Sankey

6. Justin Sikimeti

7. Nick Saunders

8. Brodie Leber

9. Ryan Lonergan

10. Liam Moseley

11. Jackson Duffey

12. Trai Henderson

13. Lenny Ikitau

14. Kuti Tahau

15. Jamie Kotz


16. Tevita Unga-Wolske

17. Nick Cushan 

18. Ben Gordon

19. Levi G-Shaw

20. Liam Rasch

21. Jacob Abel

22. Alec Sheldon

23. Josh Wells

Force U20s team to take on the Brumbies U20s

1. Victor Harris

2. Sama Malola

3. Shambeckler Vui

4. Sam Offer

5. Liam Van Der Heyden

6. Sosifa Likio

7. Evan Stafford

8. Brody Macaskill

9. Michael McDonald

10. Anthony Hondros

11. Will Latu

12. Jordan Holgate

13. Kitione Nairube

14. Trey Moloney

15. Clay Uyen

16. Seti Vili Kaufononga

17. Tahere Reha

18. Ben Grant

19. Tevita Akolo

20. Rory O'Sullivan

21. Naude Wessels

22. Jonah Chase