Next gen set for Super U20s openers

by Tom Logan

The Reds and Rebels will open a bumper Super U20s opening round with last year's grand finalists facing off for a first-up win.

Both sides will be looking to hit the ground running in what is shaping up as an exciting year, with all matches being streamed LIVE on, Facebook and Super Rugby websites.

Queensland U20s head coach Brad Thorn has named openside flanker Liam Wright as captain and Jayden Ngamanu as vice-captain for the 2017 campaign.

Thorn recently hailed the pair's development of the two players, impressed with their growth in maturity over the past year.

"Both players have come in leaps and bounds since last year so it's really pleasing to see heading into the new season" - Brad Thorn

"Last year is now done and dusted so we need to shift our focus to the year ahead.

"Our goal is to develop future Reds but we would also like to win."

Whilst revenge will no doubt be on the Rebels minds as they look to atone for last year's grand final loss, coach Craig McGrath is eager for his side to show their potential first and foremost..
Jack McGregor will start his Super Rugby career in Melbourne. Photo: Melbourne Rebels"We're going to head up to Brisbane as underdogs again but the players are really excited to hit the ground running this season," he said.

"We have shown patches of really good work in the trial games and if we can build on that then we will definitely be in with a big chance.

"The Reds are a very good side with lots of size in their pack but I'm confident that we can match that this year."

The Queensland Reds U20s take on the Rebels at Brisbane's Crosby Park on Saturday at 12pm local time, 1pm AEDT.


Queensland U20s team to play Melbourne Rebels U20s, Saturday 25 February, 1pm AEDT, Crosby Park.

1. Harry Hoopert

2. Effie Ma’afu

3. Gavin Luka

4. Angus Blyth

5. Harry Hockings

6. Calum Ball

7. Liam Wright (C)

8. Angus Scott-Young

9. Harry Nucifora

10. Hamish Stewart

11. Sam Edwards

12. Tony Hunt

13. Dylan Riley

14. Will Eadie

15. Jayden Ngamanu (VC)


16. Matthew Faessler

17. Lloyd Gorman

18. Joshua Nasser

19. Seru Masirewa Ganita

20. Patrick Tafa

21. Jordan Lenac

22. Alex Horan

23. Lorenzo Skelton

Melbourne Rebels U20s team to play Queensland U20s

1. Mahe Vailanu

2. Callum Kent

3. Vaauli Faamausili

4. Emmanuel Latu-Meafou

5. Esei Haangana (Captain)

6. Richard Clift

7. Jack Farrell

8. Tuaina Tualima

9. Harrison Goddard (Vice Captain)

10. Jack McGregor

11. Semisi Tupou

12. Angelo Leaupepe

13. Hunter Paisami

14. Hayden Sargeant

15. Oisin Clarken


16. Shaedyn Folau

17. Declan Cox

18. Afi Taivai

19. Sunia Finefeuiaki

20. Ben Collins

21. Tim Sippel

22. Tom Da Forno

23. Nic Donghi

Click here to watch the LIVE stream of the Queensland U20s and Rebels U20s

The Western Force face a tough away trip to the NSW Gen Blue U20s in the other round one Super U20s matchup.

Head coach Dwayne Nestor, who led the Perth Spirit to their maiden Buildcorp NRC title last season, has the luxury of selecting a strong side consisting of a host of local WA talent.

Tighthead prop Shambeckler Vui will be a name many remember from 2016, with the promising front rower's try for Australia in the U20s World Champs going viral.

The NSW Gen Blue U20s are yet to announce their side.


Western Force U20s team to play NSW Gen Blue U20s Saturday February 25, from 3:00PM AEDT Kippax Oval, Sydney

1. Victor Harris

2. Sama Malola

3. Shambeckler Vui

4. Hendricus Van Der Hayden

5. Ben Grant

6. Brody Macaskill

7. Evan Stafford

8. Tevita Akolo

9. Rory O'Sullivan

10. Anthony Hondros

11. Matthew Lander

12. Jordan Holgate

13. Will Latu

14. Trey Moloney

15. Clay Uyen


16. Lorenzo Mario

17. Seti Kaufononga

18. Tahere Reha

19. Lachlan Currie 

20. Sosifa Likio

21. Michael McDonald

22. Naude Wessels

23. Jacob Cowley

NSW Gen Blue Team to play Western Force U20s

1. Harry Johnson-Holmes

2. Phil Bradford

3. Harry Chapman

4. Ryan McCauly

5. Tom Piroddi

6. Lachlan Swinton

7. Lachie Simpson

8. Justin Cooper

9. Theo Strang (c)

10. Nick Wilkinson

11. James Ramm

12. Kepu Lokotui

13. Esera Chee-Kam

14. Yirribi Jaffer-Williams

15. Tim Clements


16. Cody Walker

17. Jack Nettleton

18. Will McCrae

20. Dom McGrath

21. Banjo Travers

22. Dan Boardman

23. Eddie King

Click here to watch the LIVE stream of the NSW Gen Blue U20s and Western Force U20s