Polota-Nau to make Force debut

Super Rugby
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Tatafu Polota-Nau will make his first Force appearance as his new team takes on  NRC side, Perth Spirit.

The capped Wallabies hooker has been named to start for the Force, combining with Francois Van Wyk and Jermaine Ainsley in the front row.

Curtis Rona is heading west. Photo: Getty ImagesNRL convert Curtis Rona will have a chance to show his finishing skills in his first outing for the Force, starting on the wing.

Matt Hodgson will line up at openside flanker in a new-look backrow, with Ben McCalman and Angus Cottrell both unavailable, putting usual hooker Anaru Rani at blindside and Brynard Stander at number eight.

The Spirit, who took out the NRC title this season, will field nine of the players from its championship team in the match tomorrow, including captain Heath Tessman at hooker.

Harry Scoble is another hooker making a position switch, playing at blindside flanker for the Spirit, after a breakout year for the Force.


Western Force to meet Perth Spirit

1. Francois Van Wyk

2. Tatafu Polota Nau

3. Jermaine Ainsley

4. Matthew Philip

5. Isireli Naisarani

6. Anaru Rangi

7. Matt Hodgson

8. Brynard Stander

9. Ryan Louwrens

10. Peter Grant

11. Semisi Masirewa

12. Bill Meakes

13. Curtis Rona

14. Chance Peni

15. James Verity-Amm

Perth Spirit to face Western Force

1. Mees Erasmus

2. Heath Tessmann

3. Shambeckler Vui

4. Onehunga Havili

5. Ross Haylett-Petty

6. Harry Scoble

7. Kane Koteka

8. Richard Hardwick

9. Michael Ruru

10. Ian Prior

11. Brendan Owen

12. Marcel Brache

13. Alex Newsome

14. Will Latu

15. Clay Uyen