Brumbies' new faces to take on Barbarians

Super Rugby
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Kyle Godwin will have his first outing in a Brumbies jersey on Saturday, named at inside centre for his new team in its trial against the Australian Barbarians.

Godwin is one of four capped Test players in the starting lineup, alongside Josh Mann-Rea, Sam Carter and Ben Alexander, with Carter captaining the side.

The Brumbies have banded together in an emotional week. Photo: Getty ImagesThe former Force playmaker will team up with Kiwi flyhalf Wharenui Hawera in the clash, with Hawera having first crack at filling Christian Lealiifano’s void.

New recruits Tom Cusack (Australian Sevens) and Chris Alcock (Force) will start in the back row for the Brumbies, in their debuts for the club.

Wallabies Scott Fardy, Tevita Kuridrani, Scott Sio and Allan Alaalatoa are all sitting out the opening preseason trial.

Brumbies coach Stephen Larkham said the match would be important for players pushing their credentials in a new-look outfit.

Tom Cusack faces a defender in the Sydney 7s Cup semi. Photo: ARU Media/Stu WalmsleyThis game is an important part of our pre-season preparations and we are looking forward to the challenge presented by the Australian Barbarians,” he said.

“The boys have been putting in the hard yards on the training fields and are excited about getting into competitive action.

“This friendly will enable us to run the rule over a few players and is a chance for them to put their hands up for a starting spot for Round 1 of Super Rugby. - Stephen Larkham

“It’s a new-look team with a number of new faces taking to the field for the first time and they will be keen to implement some ideas that we have been working hard on during pre-season.

“We will also be giving an opportunity to several players who worked hard prior to Christmas with Andrew Muirhead, Mac Hansen, Isaac Thompson and Jamie Kotz all likely to play some part in the match.”


Brumbies to face Australian Barbarians at Viking Park

1. Nic Mayhew

2. Josh Mann-Rea

3. Ben Alexander

4. Tom Staniforth

5. Sam Carter (c)

6. Tom Cusack

7. Chris Alcock

8. Lolo Fakosilea

9. Joe Powell

10. Wharenui Hawera

11. Lausii Taliauli

12. Kyle Godwin

13. Andrew Smith

14. Andrew Muirhead

15. Aidan Toua


16. Robbie Abel

17. Faalelei Sione

18. Leslie Leuluaialii Makin

19. Blake Enever

20. Jordan Smiler

21. Tomas Cubelli

22. Jordan Jackson-Hope

23. Mac Hansen

24. Saia Faingaa

25. Jarrad Butler

26. Ben Hyne

27. Ryan Lonergan

28. Isaac Thompson

29. Jamie Kotz

30. Henry Speight

Australian Barbarians squad

1. Rory O'Connor (Rays)

2. James Hilterbrand (Rays)

3. David Lolohea (Rams)

4. Adrian Hall (Rays)

5. Tom Alexander (Rams)

6. Will Munro (Eagles)

7. Will Miller (Rays)

8. Tyrone Viiga (Rams)

9. Dewet Roos (Rays)

10. AJ Alatimu (Spirit)

11. Sione Taufa (Rising)

12. Andrew Robinson (Vikings)

13. Dennis Pili-Gaitau (Rays)

14. Eli Sinoti (Vikings)

15. Junior Laloifi (Brisbane City)


16. Brandon Paenga-Amosa (Rams)

17. Laione Mulikihaamea (Spirit)

18. Philip Kite (Vikings)

19. Tyrell Barker (Queensland Country)

20. Dean Oakman-Hunt (Vikings)

21. Edan Campbell-O'Brien (Vikings)

22. Tom Hill (Eagles)

23. Mainhera Eden (Spirit).