Wallaroos name fresh faces for Eden Park double header

Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Twelve Wallaroos will earn their Test debut on Saturday, as they attempt to claim a maiden win over New Zealand.

Veteran Ash Hewson will captain the side at Eden Park, that includes six new faces in the starting XV.

Sarah Riordan's impressive form in a 21-19 tour win over Auckland on Tuesday earned her a start at fullback, a move coach Paul Verrell foreshadowed after that victory.

The Wallaroos will be looking to get out on the front foot in New Zealand, after a  nervous start in their mid-week game.

Verrell said his side was eagerly anticipating the chance to run out in Auckland against the Black Ferns.

“Our preparation throughout our time in New Zealand has been productive and we have continued to build our depth as a squad," he said.

“Taking on the Black Ferns at Eden Park is going to be a great challenge but the team is really excited by the opportunity to play New Zealand and we can’t wait to get out onto the field.” 

The Wallaroos take on New Zealand at Eden Park on Saturday, kicking off at 3:05 pm AEDT, LIVE on FOXSPORTS and broadcast on radio through http://www.abc.net.au/grandstand

Wallaroos team

1. Louise Burrows, Canberra Royals  

2. Ivy Kaleta*, Sunnybank

3. Hana Ngaha*, Sunnybank

4. Alisha Hewett, GPS

5. Chloe Butler, Parramatta  

6. Mollie Gray, Sydney University  

7. Vesinia Schaaf-Tatufa*,Palmyra   

8. Liz Patu, Wests

9. Iliseva Batibasaga, Sydney University

10. Ashleigh Hewson (c), Sydney University  

11. Shontelle Stowers*, Warringah  

12. Hanna Sio, Parramatta

13. Nareta Marsters*, Sunnybank 

14. Cobie-Jane Morgan, Warringah  

15. Sarah Riordan*, Merewether Carlton  


16. Alanna Patison*, Newcastle University  

17. Emily Robinson*, Warringah  

18. Danielle Meskell, Warringah  

19. Grace Hamilton*, Sydney University 

20. Kirby Sefo*, Sunnybank  

21. Ariana Kaiwai*, Blacktown   

22. Katrina Barker*, Warringah   

23. Cheyenne Campbell, Redlands