Hooper shines at Tahs awards

Fri, 02/09/2016, 10:12 pm
Beth Newman
by Beth Newman

Michael Hooper’s perfect streak of Matthew Burke Cups has continued for a fourth consecutive season, with the Waratahs captain beating out Israel Folau for the major award.

Hooper has won the award more times than any other player in history, voted as the players’ player in every season he has played in Sydney, after joining the club from the Brumbies.

The 24-year-old finished with 297 votes for the season, ahead of Folau (243), Nick Phipps (242), Kurtley Beale (158) and Jed Holloway (112).

Hooper played every minute of the Waratahs Super Rugby season after taking over the captaincy from Dave Dennis.

The Waratahs skipper’s season was also rated the best by the club’s members, with the flanker winning the member’s choice gong.

Folau was named the best back for the second year in a row, with Holloway taking out his first Best Forward award.

Phipps won the Waratahs Medal for on and off-field excellence, a nod to his contribution to the club.

Rookie prop Tom Robertson continued a stellar debut season taking out the Aspiring Waratah award, after a year in which he cracked his first Wallabies squad.

Final Matthew Burke Cup standings

1. Michael Hooper – 297 votes

2. Israel Folau – 243 votes

3. Nick Phipps – 242 votes

4. Kurtley Beale – 158 votes

5. Jed Holloway – 112 votes

6. Dave Dennis – 101 votes

7. Bernard Foley – 98 votes

8. Tom Robertson – 91 votes

9. Tatafu Polota-Nau – 85 votes

10. Robert Horne – 80 votes

Taniela Tupou bursts away from the Western Force. Photo: Getty Images
LIVE: Reds hold onto slim lead after Force fightback
Mitch Short in action for Randwick. Photo: Karen Watson
Battle of the East set to reignite at Coogee Oval
Dane Haylett-Petty answers questions ahead of the Rebels clash with the Waratahs. Photo: Getty Images
Haylett-Petty hopeful of rugby comeback
The Weary Dunlop Shield which the Melbourne Rebels and NSW Waratahs play for
ANZAC Legends: Weary Dunlop
Rugby.com.au Logo

The Rugby.com.au are a proud part of Rugby AU

© 2021 Australian Rugby. All rights reserved.