Pumas and Springboks name teams for Salta showdown

The Rugby Championship
by AFP

Tighthead prop Vincent Koch replaces injured Julian Redelinghuys in the only change to the South Africa team for the Rugby Championship second-round Test against Argentina in Salta on Saturday.

There are also two alterations to the bench from the first meeting last week with Lourens Adriaanse taking over from Koch and veteran fly-half Morne Steyn getting the nod ahead of centre Juan de Jongh.

Loosehead Tendai 'The Beast' Mtawarira is set to make his 80th appearance for the green and gold, equalling the record of retired Os du Randt as the most capped Springbok prop.

The anticipated call up of Koch comes after Redelinghuys was forced to retire with a hamstring injury last Saturday when South Africa rallied for a fortunate 30-23 home win over the Pumas.

"Vincent did very well when he came on as a replacement for Julian and he is rewarded with a starting berth," Coetzee said after announcing his team in Buenos Aires.

"We also believe it will be good to give Lourens an opportunity on the bench at this stage."

Elton Jantjies's radar has been off. Photo; Getty ImagesCoetzee showed faith in several players who failed to sparkle in four home Tests this season with South Africa edging Ireland 2-1 in a three-Test series before overcoming Argentina.

Centres Lionel Mapoe and Damian de Allende have performed below expectations and the goal-kicking of fly-half Elton Jantjies has been a cause for concern.

Jantjies missed three of nine shots at goal last weekend when the Springboks turned a 10-point deficit with nine minutes left into a last-gasp victory.

England-based flanker Francois Louw has received continuous criticism for below-par performances with many South African pundits saying Jaco Kriel deserves a starting place.  

South Africa have beaten Argentina 21 times, drawn once and lost once since they first met 23 years ago in Buenos Aires.

The only previous Test between the countries in north-western city Salta ended 33-31 in favour of the Springboks two seasons ago.

Argentina hosts South Africa in their second Rugby Championship clash, at 8:30am AEST Sunday.

Argentina team to face Springboks (15-1)

Joaquin Tuculet, Santiago Cordero, Matias Orlando, Juan Martin Hernandez, Manuel Montero; Nicolas Sanchez, Martin Landajo; Facundo Isa, Juan Manuel Leguizamon, Pablo Matera; Tomas Lavanini, Matias Alemanno; Ramiro Herrera, Agustin Creevy (capt), Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro


Julian Montoya, Felipe Arregui, Enrique Pieretto, Guido Petti, Javier Ortega Desio, Tomas Cubelli, Santiago Gonzalez Iglesias, Lucas Gonzalez Amorosino

Springboks team to face Argentina (15-1)

Johan Goosen; Ruan Combrinck, Lionel Mapoe, Damian de Allende, Bryan Habana; Elton Jantjies, Faf de Klerk; Warren Whiteley, Oupa Mohoje, Francois Louw; Lood de Jager, Eben Etzebeth; Vincent Koch, Adriaan Strauss (capt), Tendai Mtawarira


Bongi Mbonambi, Steven Kitshoff, Lourens Adriaanse, Pieter-Steph du Toit, Jaco Kriel, Rudy Paige, Morne Steyn, Jesse Kriel