NRC: Houston to debut for Brisbane City

by Marty Cambridge

Recent Queensland Reds recruit Leroy Houston will make his debut for Brisbane City as they begin their quest for a three-peat in the Buildcorp NRC.

The massive No.8 played a handful of games in the back-end of the Super Rugby season and will bring valuable experience to the side.

Leroy Houston has recently returned from playing for Bath in England. Photo: Getty Images.

New head coach Rod Seib has also named an all-Reds front row including Andrew Ready who had a breakthrough 2016 for Queensland.

“The guys are really looking forward to the opening round,” Seib said.

“We’ve been together for two weeks now and have already seen a real willingness to work hard for each other.

“They’re buzzing for this first match.”

Seib takes over from newly appointed Reds head coach Nick Stiles who led Brisbane City to the first two Buildcorp NRC titles.

“Brisbane City established itself as a successful team by working hard and enjoying our time together and that’s what we’re looking for from the group again this season,” he said.

Brisbane City will begin their campaign without scrumhalf Nick Frisby who has been called into Wallabies camp ahead of the second Bledisloe.

The side is also without flyhallf Jake McIntyre giving an opportunity for new halves pairing Moses Sorovi and Jake Strachan to guide the team.

Prop Sam Talakai will skipper Brisbane City in 2016. Photo: ARU Media/Stu Walmsley

Queensland Reds fullback Karmichael Hunt, another notable omission, ruled out for the remainder of the year as he struggles to overcome a groin injury sustained during in Super Rugby.

Brisbane City kick-off their season against the NSW Country Eagles at Sydney Uni on Sunday at 3pm.  All the Builcorp NRC action will be live on FoxSports.

Brisbane City side

1. Pettowa Paraka – Reds/Easts

2. Andrew Ready – Reds/Easts

3. Sam Talakai (C) – Reds/Brothers

4. David Findlay-Henaway – Brothers (Brisbane City/NRC debut)

5. Lukhan Tui – Reds/Brothers (Brisbane City/NRC debut)

6. Luke Beauchamp – Brothers

7. Michael Gunn – Reds/Easts

8. Leroy Houston – Reds/Wests (Brisbane City/NRC debut)

9. Moses Sorovi – Reds U20s/University of Queensland

10. Jake Strachan – Sunnybank (Brisbane City/NRC debut)

11. Alex Gibbon – Reds/Norths

12. Nathan Russell – University of Queensland (Brisbane City/NRC debut)

13. Toby White - Easts

14. Chris Kuridrani – Reds/GPS

15. Patrick James - Brothers


16. Matt Mafi – Reds/Brothers

17. Markus Vanzati - Souths

18. Feao Fotuaika – Sunnybank

19. Isi Naisarani – Souths (Brisbane City/NRC debut)

20. Jack de Guingand – University of Queensland (Brisbane City debut)

21. Angus Fowler – Brothers (Brisbane City/NRC debut)

22. Levi Aumua – Souths (Brisbane City/NRC debut)

23. Brad Lacey – Wests Scarborough (Brisbane City debut)