NRC: Lance to line-up for spirited Perth

by staff

Western Force flyhallf Jono Lance has been named to line-up for Perth Spirit in the 2016 instalment of the Buildcorp NRC.

The 26-year-old was named the NRC’s best player last year, while playing for the NSW Country Eagles, before taking up a Super Rugby contract in WA.

Head coach Dwayne Nestor’s 35-man squad features a host of Western Force contracted players, with 13 positions filled by standouts from the local competition.

“I think it is a really good mix,” he said.

“The contracted guys will be motivated just to play footy, the Future Force Foundation players are obviously looking to prove themselves and trying to take a step up to the next level and the club guys are presented with a fantastic opportunity.”

 Jono Lance had an injury plagued 2016 Super Rugby season. Photo: Getty Images

The Spirit missed the finals in 2015 but Nestor said he will tinker with the game plan to get a better result in this year’s competition.

“We’re looking to win the thing,” he said.

“I think in the last two years there has been a bit of different set up in terms of rosters and rotation of players.

“This year there will still be a bit of that in terms of making sure the Force players are doing the best preparation for Super Rugby but there is more of an emphasis on winning.”

The side will also feature prop Shambeckler Vui, who became an internet sensation after a 40-metre barnstorming try in the Under-20 World Rugby Championships.

Perth Spirit will begin their campaign against Melbourne Rising at McGillivray Oval on August 27.

Full Squad

Jermaine Ainsley, AJ Alatimu, Marcel Brache, Brad Campbell, Pek Cowan, Louie David, Manihera Eden, Mees Erasmus, Richard Hardwick, Onehunga Havilli, Ross Haylett-Petty, Beau Kin, Grayson Knapp, Kane Koteka, Jono Lance, Ryan Louwrens, Semisi Masirewa, Liaone Mulikihaamea, Ian Prior, Anaru Rangi, Michael Ruru, Harry Scoble, Auega Seumanutafa, Brynard Stander, Ben Tapuai, Heath Tessmann, Eric Vasukicakau, James Verity-Amm, Shambeckler Vui, James Wepener and Riley Winter. 

Marquee Wallabies Players: Adam Coleman, Dane Haylett-Petty, Ben McCalman and Luke Morahan.