Palu to start against Hurricanes

Super Rugby
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

The Waratahs will be hoping for another starring performance from Wycliff palu, with the powerful number eight returning to the starting side to face the Hurricanes.

The NSW veteran was a physical force in the Waratahs' pre-June window win over the Chiefs and he will likely need to have a similar impact at Allianz on Saturday night.

Palu replaces Dave Dennis in the backrow, with the latter reuniting with Will Skelton in the locks, with Dean Mumm into the blindside spot.

Nick Phipps returns to the starting scrumhalf spot, while Matt Carraro comes on to the wing for his 50th Waratahs match, after notching his 50th Super Rugby game before the Test break.

While the Hurricanes will be difficult to overcome, the weather could ultimately determine their finals fate, with a wet night forecast for the match.

A bonus point would be vital for the Waratahs, who are currently on equal points with the conference-leading Brumbies but one win behind, keeping them in second spot.

Though with rain forecast for Saturday, NSW are going to need to bring a field position heavy game that mightn't lend itself to the try-fest needed to clinch that extra point.

Defence coach Nathan Grey said the weather would be a factor but they'd be looking for a balance between their trademark ball in hand rugby and field position.

"We'll be playing the conditions accordingly," he said.

"We're preparing for a wet game so that obviously means you need to adjust your game plan in terms of what you do.

"We won't be steering away from what we believe is the Waratah way of playing and putting them under pressure both sides of the ball. When the opportunity presents, we'll be holding on to it and putting some phases together."

Waratahs team to face the Hurricanes on Saturday July 9, 7:40pm AEST, LIVE on FOXSPORTS

1. Paddy Ryan

2. Tatafu Polota-Nau

3. Tom Robertson 

4. David Dennis

5. Will Skelton

6. Dean Mumm

7. Michael Hooper

8. Wycliff Palu 

9. Nick Phipps

10. Bernard Foley

11. Matt Carraro

12. Rob Horne

13. Israel Folau

14. Taqele Naiyaravoro 

15. Andrew Kellaway


16. Hugh Roach 

17. Jeremy Tilse 

18. Angus Ta’avao

19. Sam Lousi

20. Jack Dempsey

21. Matt Lucas

22. David Horwitz

23. Reece Robinson