Milestones aplenty as 'Tahs face Bulls unchanged

Super Rugby
Matt Lewis Profile
by Matt Lewis

The NSW Waratahs have named an unchanged starting team for their clash against the Bulls on Saturday.

The Waratahs are currently the form team in the Australian conference having won their last three matches and are on equal points with the conference-leading Brumbies with a game in hand.

In one of many milestones for the ‘Tahs Bernard Foley will becomes the Waratahs’ most capped Super Rugby flyhalf when he runs out for his 60th match on Saturday surpassing Daniel Halangahu.

Tatafu Polota-Nau overtakes legend Phil Waugh as the second most capped Waratah of all-time, playing his 137th match, while versatile back Matt Carraro will notch up his 50th Super Rugby cap.

That ‘Tahs have won seven of 10 home games against the Bulls, having last played them in 2014, winning 19-12.

Daryl Gibson has named nine players on the bench with Jack Dempsey a possibility to return from a nerve injury.

Young lock Ned Hanigan will come off the bench if Dempsey fails to overcome his injury.

That Waratahs take on the Bulls at Allianz Stadium at 7:40pm AEST LIVE on FOX SPORTS.  


1. Paddy Ryan (71 caps)

2. Tatafu Polota-Nau (135 caps)

3. Tom Robertson (7 caps)

4. David Dennis (101 caps)

5. Will Skelton (47 caps)

6. Dean Mumm (95 caps)

7. Michael Hooper (C – 90 caps)

8. Wycliff Palu (129 caps)

9. Nick Phipps (91 caps)

10. Bernard Foley (71 caps)

11. Rob Horne (96 caps)

12. Kurtley Beale (54 caps)

13. Israel Folau (54 caps)

14. Reece Robinson (7 caps)

15. Andrew Kellaway (5 caps)


16. Hugh Roach (15 caps)

17. Jeremy Tilse (54 caps)

18. Angus Ta’avao (57 caps)

19. Sam Lousi (11 caps)

20. Ned Hanigan (1 cap) / Jack Dempsey (10 caps)

21. Matt Lucas (21 caps)

22. David Horwitz (7 caps)

23. Matt Carraro (49 caps)