Brumbies unchanged for Rebels clash

Super Rugby
Matt Lewis Profile
by Matt Lewis

Stephen Larkham has selected the same 23 men that defeated the Bulls last week for Friday’s much anticipated Australian derby against the Melbourne Rebels.

The Brumbies returned to their winning ways for the first time in three weeks last Friday when they defeated the Bulls 23-6 at GIO Stadium to jump to the top of the Australian conference.

With Matt Toomua expected to be out for up to six weeks Robbie Coleman holds his place at inside centre while James Dargaville and Nigel Ah Wong remain on the wings.

With such a tightly contested Australian conference and a dominant New Zealand conference, Friday’s match could determine the fate of both the Brumbies' and Rebels' seasons.

The Brumbies have won seven of the 10 encounters with the Rebels, with the slides splitting their two match ups last year.


1. Scott Sio                                            

2. Stephen Moore (c)                       

3. Ben Alexander                                

4. Rory Arnold                                      

5. Sam Carter                                       

6. Scott Fardy                                      

7. David Pocock                                  

8. Jarrad Butler     

9. Tomás Cubelli                                 

10. Christian Lealiifano (c)                  

11. James Dargaville                                            

12. Robbie Coleman                             

13. Tevita Kuridrani                              

14. Nigel Ah Wong                                

15. Aidan Toua       


16. Josh Mann-Rea

17. Allan Alaalatoa

18. Ruan Smith

19. Tom Staniforth

20. Blake Enever

21. Jordan Smiler

22. Joe Powell

23. Lausii Taliauli