Goro gone from Reds 23

Super Rugby
Beth Newman Profile
by Beth Newman

Japanese Test star Ayumu Goromaru has been left out of the Queensland Reds team to face the Crusaders this weekend.

His axing comes after a season of bench appearances for the fullback, with only limited minutes yielded from those.

Goromaru came to Queensland a cult figure after his star turn at last year's Rugby World Cup but has been asked to step up.

Australian U20s centre Campbell Magnay will have his first start of the season, replacing Samu Kerevi (hand) in the outside centre spot.

Hulking winger Chris Feauai-Sautia will come on to the wing, returning from an ankle injury, pushing Junior Laloifi to the bench.

Scrumhalf Nick Frisby will play his 50th cap for Queensland in Christchurch.

The Reds will head to Christchurch with confidence after a win over the Cheetahs, but it will take more than confidence to beat a high-flying Crusaders team.

Reds co-coach Matt Co-Connor welcomed the return of Feauai-Sautia into the team and said he backed youngster Magnay to step up.

“It’s good to be able to welcome Chris (Feauai-Sautia) back into the side. It was unfortunate he missed a couple of games through injury as he has been really good for us throughout the year. He trained well this week and will be really important for us tomorrow.

“As for Campbell (Magnay), he’s already played a handful of games of Super Rugby, so he’s comfortable at this level. He was outstanding throughout the 20s program and played outside centre throughout their championship run. He’s trained with us all season so he certainly deserves an opportunity. We have a lot of faith in him."

1. James Slipper (C)

2. Andrew Ready

3. Greg Holmes

4. Ben Matwijow

5. Rob Simmons

6. Hendrik Tui

7. Liam Gill

8. Curtis Browning

9. Nick Frisby (50th Queensland cap)

10. Jake McIntyre

11. Eto Nabuli

12. Anthony Fainga’a

13. Campbell Magnay

14. Chris Feauai-Sautia

15. Karmichael Hunt


16. Saia Fainga’a

17. Sef Fa’agase

18. Sam Talakai

19. Cadeyrn Neville

20. Michael Gunn

21. James Tuttle

22. Sam Greene

23. Junior Laloifi