NRC: Spirit and Rams name sides for Concord showdown

by staff

Coming off a win last week the PCS Greater Sydney Rams have another home game, this Saturday at Concord Oval, against the Perth Spirit. Kick off is at 3pm.

Jed Gillespie and Cameron Betham both return to the starting front row this week, to pack in alongside Hugh Roach. Will Munro gets his first start of the season, having featured in all games so far off the bench, and will partner Jake Douglas in the second row. The back row of Hayes, Masson and Holloway has been maintained for the second week in a row.

The backline has a very familiar look to last weeks with one key change. Afa Pakalani moves from fullback to the wing with BJ Hartmann slotting in at the back.

Matt Gibbon will get his chance as replacement front rower off the bench this week. Brad Kapa also returns to the side after some good performances for the development team. Taylor Adams and Brad Curtis are also back after missing last weeks game.

The Perth Spirit will look to finish the Buildcorp National Rugby Championship regular season off on a high when they take on the Greater Sydney Rams at Concord Oval in Sydney on Saturday.

The Perth-based team’s loss to the NSW Country Eagles last weekend means that the Spirit must win on Saturday, as well as relying on other results to qualify for the finals series.

The Spirit faces an in-form Rams team this weekend and will need to be at their best to get the win.

Front-rower Francois van Wyk returns, with Future Force academy product Harry Scoble receiving his first start of the season at hooker.

Cottesloe’s Adrian Hall comes back into the starting team after another impressive performance off the bench last week and will line up alongside Gulls teammate Ross Haylett-Petty.

After another imposing game off the bench last weekend, Wests Scarborough captain Pierre Roberts, earns a starting spot in the ‘6’ jersey, with fellow Pindan Premier Grade teammate Kane Koteka beside him at openside flanker

Ryan Louwrens will start at scrumhalf, with Western Force adversary Ian Prior starting at flyhalf, with Luke Burton sidelined with a hand injury.

Superstar Kyle Godwin is back and will look to keep a solid partnership going with Joondalup’s Maalonga Konelio in the centres.

Pindan Premier Grade stars Anaru Rangi, Jermaine Ainsley and Auega Seumanutafa are all back in the team, providing strong support off the bench. Nick Jooste also comes back into the team, after completing his duties for the Australian Schoolboys in their recent Tri Nations tournament.

Perth Spirit head coach Tai McIsaac, says the team is firmly focusing on getting the win against the Rams.

“We’re not clouding the boys minds with what may happen beyond this weekend, we just want them to go out there, play some good rugby, hopefully get the win and enjoy themselves.”

“This week provides another great opportunity for the team to grow and showcase what we can do.

“It certainly isn’t going to be easy, the Rams are up and about and their position on the ladder certainly doesn’t represent the way they can play.”

Greater Sydney Rams side to play Perth Spirit:

1. Jed Gillespie
2. Hugh Roach
3. Cameron Betham
4. Will Munro
5. Jake Douglas
6. Jono Hayes
7. Cohen Masson
8. Jed Holloway (c)
9. Dewet Roos
10. Paul Asquith
11. Afa Pakalani
12. Michael McDougall
13. Jordan Heyer
14. Matt Teki
15. Brenden Hartmann
16. Siliva Silva
17. Matt Gibbon
18. Sam Needs
19. Brad Kapa
20. Kelly Meafau
21. Taylor Adams
22. Rohan Saifoloi
23. Brad Curtis

Perth Spirit side to play Greater Sydney Rams:

1. Francois van Wyk - UWA
2. Harry Scoble - UWA
3. Oliver Hoskins - Cottesloe
4. Adrian Hall - Cottesloe
5. Ross Haylett-Petty - Cottesloe
6. Pierre Roberts - Wests Scarborough
7 Kane Koteka - Wests Scarborough
8. Angus Cottrell - Associates
9. Ryan Louwrens - Cottesloe
10. Ian Prior (c) - Nedlands
11. Brad Lacey - Wests Scarborough
12. Kyle Godwin - Associates
13. Maalonga Konelio - Joondalup
14. Faamanatu Apineru - Kalamunda
15. Albert Nikoro - Wests Scarborough
16. Anaru Rangi - Nedlands
17. Chris Heiberg - Perth Bayswater
18. Jermaine Ainsley - Nedlands
19. Rory Walton - Wests Scarborough
20. Auega Seumanutafa - Kalamunda
21. Michael Ruru - Nedlands
22. Nick Jooste - Hale School
23. Byron Hutchinson - Wanneroo