Super Rugby: Round One teams

Super Rugby

Brumbies vs Hurricanes, Friday February 26, 7:40pm GIO Stadium Canberra

The Brumbies have named their team to face the Hurricanes on Friday night featuring 11 Wallabies and three uncapped players.

Argentinian halback Tomas Cubelli will make his Super Rugby debut while Aidan Toua will make his first Super Rugby appearance since 2014.

In a huge surprise Stephen Larkham has called on young loosehead prop Allan Alaalatoa to start his first Super Rugby match on home soil, named ahead of incumbent Wallaby Scott Sio who is on the bench.

Stephen Moore will captain the side in his 150th Super Rugby match alongside experienced playmaker Christian Lealiifano.


1. Allan Alaalatoa                                 

2. Stephen Moore (c)                         

3. Ben Alexander                                 

4. Rory Arnold                                       

5. Sam Carter                                         

6. Scott Fardy         

7. David Pocock                                    

8. Ita Vaea                              

9. Tomás Cubelli                 

10. Christian Lealiifano                         

11. Joe Tomane

12. Matt Toomua                                   

13. Tevita Kuridrani           

14. Henry Speight                                   

15. Aidan Toua        


16. Josh Mann-Rea

17. Scott Sio

18. Leslie Leulua’iali’i-Makin

19. Jordan Smiler

20. Jarrad Butler

21. Michael Dowsett

22. Andrew Smith

23. Nigel Ah Wong

Queensland Reds vs NSW Waratahs, Saturday February 27, 7:40pm Allianz Stadium

Zac Guildford will make his Super Rugby debut for the Waratahs against the Reds. Photo: Getty Images

NSW Waratahs Head Coach Daryl Gibson has named three Waratahs debutants in the starting XV for their round one clash against the Queensland Reds on Saturday night.

Former All Black Zac Guildford is set to play his first Super Rugby match since early 2014 after moving to Australia late last year.

Angus Ta’avao impressed in the pre-season and will make his club debut in the front row, while former Australian U20s star David Horwitz will run out for his first Super Rugby cap at inside centre.

The Tahs starting team features 10-capped Wallabies led by team captain Michael Hooper.

1. Paddy Ryan (62 caps)

2. Tatafu Polota-Nau (130 caps)

3. Angus Ta’avao (NSW Waratahs debut – 48 caps)

4. Dean Mumm (86 caps)

5. Will Skelton (39 caps)

6. David Dennis (VC – 92 caps)

7. Michael Hooper (C – 81 caps)

8. Jed Holloway (4 caps)

9. Nick Phipps (82 caps)

10. Kurtley Beale (115 caps)

11. Zac Guildford (NSW Waratahs debut – 79 caps)

12. David Horwitz (NSW Waratahs / Super Rugby debut)

13. Rob Horne (89 caps)

14. Matt Carraro (40 caps)

15. Israel Folau (45 caps)


16. Tolu Latu (28 caps)

17. Benn Robinson (144 caps)

18. Jeremy Tilse (48 caps)

19. Sam Lousi (4 caps)

20. Jack Dempsey (3 caps)

21. Matt Lucas (12 caps)

22. Bryce Hegarty (potential NSW Waratahs debut – 33 caps)

23.    Reece Robinson (potential NSW Waratahs / Super Rugby debut)


Karmichael Hunt has beaten out Ayumu Goromaru for the Reds fullback spot. Photo: Getty Images

Star flanker Liam Gill is set to miss the Super Rugby opener against the Waratahs with a back injury, the Reds confirmed on Thursday morning.

Gill, a runaway winner of the club's Stan Pilecki Medal last year after playing in every game, will be replaced by Curtis Browning in the starting side for the Reds.

Former Dragons winger Eto Nabuli will start on the wing in his Super Rugby debut, one of three debutants in the Queensland side for the opener.

Lock Caydern Neville and inside centre Henry Taefu will also make their Reds debuts in the match.

Reds coach Richard Graham has stuck to his pre-season view that Karmichael Hunt is best suited to the fullback position, with the 29-year-old starting at 15 over Japanese recruit Ayumu Goromaru.

1. Ben Daley

2. Saia Fainga’a

3. Greg Holmes

4. Cadeyrn Neville (Queensland debut)

5. Rob Simmons (C)

6. Hendrik Tui

7. Curtis Browning

8. Jake Schatz

9. Nick Frisby

10. Jake McIntyre

11. Eto Nabuli

12. Henry Taefu 

13. Samu Kerevi

14. Chris Feauai-Sautia

15. Karmichael Hunt


16. Andrew Ready

17. Sef Fa’agase

18. Sam Talakai

19. Ben Matwijow 

20. Michael Gunn

21. Scott Gale

22. Sam Greene

23. Ayumu Goromaru 

Western Force vs Melbourne Rebels, Saturday February 26, 9:50pm AEDT nib Stadium

Jono Lance will start at flyhalf for the Force. Photo: Getty Images

Jono Lance has pipped former Springbok Peter Grant for the Western Force's starting flyhalf spot in their opening match of the season against the Melbourne Rebels on Saturday night.

Lance and Grant are two of five club debutants along with Ben Tapuai, Jermaine Ainsley, and Semisi Masirewa.

“It’s an exciting time for those five players,” head coach Michael Foley said.

“They’ve all worked hard to earn their places in the match squad for Saturday.”

Foley has also named an experienced forward pack led by Matt Hodgson who will enter his 11th season with the Force.

Ben McCalman is unavailable for the opening rounds of Super Rugby after returning from Japan with Angus Cottrell stepping into the Number 8 position.


1. Pekahou Cowan

2. Nathan Charles

3. Guy Millar

4. Steve Mafi

5. Adam Coleman

6. Brynard Stander

7. Matt Hodgson

8. Angus Cottrell

9. Alby Mathewson

10. Jono Lance

11. Marcel Brache

12. Kyle Godwin

13. Ben Tapuai

14. Luke Morahan

15. Dane Haylett-Petty


16. Heath Tessmann

17. Chris Heiberg

18. Jermaine Ainsley

19. Ross Haylett-Petty

20. Chris Alcock

21. Ian Prior

22. Peter Grant

23. Semisi Masirewa


Sean McMahon will captain the Rebels against the Force. Photo: Getty Images

New captain Nic Stirzaker has been ruled out of the Rebels’ season opener, with flanker Sean McMahon to lead the side out on Saturday night.

Stirzaker twinged a shoulder muscle in the latter stages of preseason that has ultimately delayed his start to the 2016 season.

Ben Meehan will start at halfback in Stirzaker’s absence, while the Rebels will feature three debutants in their starting 15.

Ex-Queensland Reds James Hanson and Adam Thomson will start in their first Melbourne matches, while New Zealander Jamie Hagan will come off the bench.

Rookie Rebels winger Reece Hodge will make his Super Rugby debut on the left wing.

1. Toby Smith

2. James Hanson

3. Laurie Weeks

4. Luke Jones

5. Lopeti Timpani

6. Jordy Reid

7. Sean McMahon (c)

8. Adam Thomson

9. Ben Meehan

10. Jack Debreczeni

11. Reece Hodge

12. Mitch Inman

13. Tamati Ellison

14. Dom Shipperley

15. Mike Harris


16. Pat Leafa

17. Cruze Ah Nau

18. Jamie Hagan

19. Steve Cummins

20. Colby Fainga’a

21. Mick Snowden

22. Jonah Placid

23. Tom English