NSW I wins Australian Schoolboys Championships for 2014

by RUGBY.com.au staff

NSW I has defeated NSW II to win the 2014 Australian Schoolboys Championships with the score of 38-24 at St Ignatius’ College Riverview on Saturday afternoon.

The tournament brings together the best young Australian Schoolboy Rugby talent to compete in a challenging tournament with the possibility of being selected in the Australian Schoolboy side.

Australian Rugby Union General Manager Pathways, Ben Whitaker was on hand to witness the final.

“It was a great match from both NSW sides so it was good to see so much depth coming through the Schoolboy ranks.

“Congratulations to all teams who took part in the tournament across the two divisions.

“We look forward to seeing many of these players progress through our Australian Rugby pathways program including the Under 20s and the NRC.”

The match really was a game of two halves with NSW I shooting out to a 38-0 lead at half time over NSW II.

The break was not kind to NSW I as NSW II scored 24 unanswered points, however it was not to be as NSW I held on to be crowned champions for 2014.

Connor O’Shea, from St Joseph’s College, Hunters Hill won the award for best performance in the Championship final.


Combined States 36 (L Lealaiauloto-Tui (2), J Wilkinson (2), J Thorndyke, L Price tries, K Anthony 3 cons) bt Western Australia 12 (L Mario, A Offer tries, N Jooste Con).

ACT 24 (J Jackson-Hope, J Fulivai, S Ross, T Evans, tries. J Jackson-Hope, H Tyson, cons) bt VIC (1) 22 (S Tuipoluto (2), I Tupai, T Blake tries) JP Sauni con)

QLD (1) 26 (C Setu, T Tualima, D Bender, N Te Rupe, tries. A Horan (2) cons, H Nucifora con) drew with QLD (2) 26 (S Keane, G Robertson, J Henjak, L Peterson tries. E Pilz (2) B McNulty, cons).

CHAMPIONSHIP FINAL: NSW (1) 38 (A Vatuvei, L Anderson, C O’Shea, S Loga-Tarogi, L Lough, G Porter tries. H Goddard 4 cons) bt NSW (2) 24 (J Wright (2) J McGregor, T Wright tries. S Renton (2) cons)

8th Place: Western Australia

7th Place: Combined States

6th Place: VIC (1)

5th Place: ACT

3rd Place: equal QLD (1) & QLD (2)

2nd Place: NSW (2) - Sir Edward ‘Weary’ Dunlop Shield

1st Place: NSW (1) - BH ‘Jika’ Travers Shield