Wallaroos team for first 2014 IRB Women's Rugby World Cup clash named

by RUGBY.com.au staff

The Wallaroos team to take on South Africa in their first match of the IRB Women’s Rugby World Cup has been named with veteran flyhalf Tui Ormsby confirmed in the starting side.

Ormsby is representing Australia at her fourth World Cup - a Wallaroos record - and has been entrusted with directing Australia’s attack throughout the match.

Wallaroos Head Coach, Paul Verrell was excited for the tournament to begin.

“All our hard work and preparation has been leading up to this point.

“This team has bonded exceptionally well and I know they will give their absolute all when we play South Africa.

“We have a great mix of youth and experience in our squad, including three of our professional Sevens players in Shannon Parry, Sharni Williams and Cobie-Jane Morgan.”

Australia has not played South Africa since the IRB Women’s World Cup in 2010 where Australia won 62-0.

The Wallaroos will play South Africa at 11.45pm AEST tonight and the match will be broadcast live on FOX SPORTS 2HD and FOX SPORTS 2.


1 Oneata Shwalger

2 Louise Burrows

3 Caroline Vakalahi

4 Rebecca Clough

5 Alisha Hewett

6 Dalena Dennison

7 Shannon Parry (c)

8 Mollie Grey

9 Nita Maynard

10 Tui Ormsby

11 Natasha Haines

12 Cobie-Jane Morgan

13 Sharni Williams

14 Madeline Putz

15 Ashleigh Hewson

16 Margaret Watson

17 Liz Patu

18 Michelle Milward

19 Chloe Butler

20 Ashley Masters

21 Hannah Sio

22 Tricia Brown