Former ARU President appointed to Sydney Cricket Ground and Sports Ground Trust

by staff

Australian Rugby Union congratulates former ARU President Ron Graham on his appointment today to the Sydney Cricket Ground and Sports Ground Trust.

Mr Graham retired from the ARU Presidency earlier this year after an extensive career in the game on and off the field.

He joins seven other persons appointed to the Sydney Cricket and Sports Ground Trust including Mr Rodney Cavalier AO, Mr Tony Shepherd AO, Mr Stephen Waugh AO, Ms Lyn Larsen, Ms Katie Page, Mr Nihal Gupta and former Australian Rugby Union Coach Mr Alan Jones AO.

The appointments were made by the Governor of NSW, Her Excellency Professor Marie Bashir, AC CVO, with advice of the Executive Council and commence 14 July, 2013 until 13 July, 2017.

This is Mr Graham’s first appointment to the Trust.

Mr Graham had a long and distinguished career in Australian Rugby. As a former player he made 18 Test appearances for Australia in the 1970s and was a Captain of New South Wales.

He became Chairman of the New South Wales Rugby Union (NSWRU) in 2000 before rising to the Presidency there two years later.

He served as both Chairman and President of the Australian Rugby Union for over a decade before stepping down earlier this year.

Other Trustees are James McNally, John Hartigan, Gail Kelly, Stuart MacGill, Rod McGeoch, AM, LLB, Maurice Newman, AC, and former Australian Rugby Union player, Ken Catchpole OAM.