Australian 20s named to face Argentina

by staff

Australian Under-20 coaches Anthony Eddy and David Nucifora have made eight changes to their starting lineup as they prepare for their second match of the IRB Junior World Championship.

The side for tomorrow night’s match will feature a distinct Sevens feel, with seven of the 22 either current or former Australian Sevens representatives.

Australia, currently ranked first in Pool C, will meet second-placed Argentina at Danie Craven Stadium in Stellenbosch at 10:45pm (AEST) on Friday 8 June.

With six changes to the forward pack and two to the backline of the side which claimed an opening 67-12 win over Scotland, Nucifora hopes to encourage competition for spots within his playing ranks.

“We wanted to get some fresh bodies out there,” Nucifora said.

“We want to give everyone an opportunity to play.

We’ve got a lot of competition for places and everyone is competing hard, so we’re giving them an opportunity to show us what they’ve got.

“Having a good win in the first round just builds our confidence because we’re still building as a team.

“This competition is all about building from each game and getting better. It’s still early days.”

In the forward pack, prop Pettowa Paraka and hooker Maile Ngauamo have been promoted from the bench to the starting line-up.

They will be joined by Oliver Hoskins who will make his Australian Under-20 debut at tighthead.

Locks Sam Reiser and Sam Jeffries move from the bench to the starting XV, with Tom Cusack the only change to the backrow, coming in at Number 8 to replace Benn Melrose.

Both Curtis Browning, blindside, and captain Liam Gill, openside, retain their starting spots.

In the backs, Qantas Men’s Sevens star Matt Lucas retains his spot at scrumhalf, with Emirates Western Force EPS member Kyle Godwin remaining outside him at flyhalf.

Centres Apolosi Latunipulu and St.George Queensland Reds centre, Chris Feauai-Sautia retain their spots, while another Qantas Men’s Sevens youngster, Allan Faalavaau, keeps his spot on the wing.

In the only two changes to the backline, Australian Sevens squad member Lindsay Crook replaces winger James Dargaville and Ulupano Seuteni replaces fellow St.George Queensland Reds EPS member Nick Frisby at fullback.

The bench consists of front row forwards Hugh Roach, Silatolu Latu and Allan Alaalatoa, with lock Jed Holloway and Qantas Men’s Sevens’ Sean McMahon, flanker, rounding out the forward reserves.

Frisby, is joined by Qantas Men’s Sevens regulars Con Foley and Lewis Holland as the backs reserves.

Nucifora knows Argentina will be difficult opposition, having watched them defeat France 18-15 on Day 1 of the tournament.

“The Argentines played very well on Tuesday,” Nucifora said.

“They’re very physical and confrontational. It will be a tough game.”

New Zealand currently lead Pool A and England are ranked first in Pool B.

Australia’s final pool match is against France at 12:45am (AEST) on Wednesday 13 June at Danie Craven Stadium in Stellenbosch.

Tournament semi-finals will take place Sunday 17 June in Stellenbosch and Cape Town, with finals running Friday 22 June.

All of the Australian Under-20 games will be shown on Fox Sports, with their first and last pool games appearing live.

Australia versus Argentina will be shown on delay at 4:30am (AEST) Saturday 9 June on Fox Sports 2HD and Fox Sports 2.

Australia versus France will be shown live on Fox Sports 3HD and 3 at 12:30am (AEST) on Wednesday 13 June.

Australian Under-20 side versus Argentina


Pettowa Paraka

Australian Schoolboys


Maile Ngauamo

Australian Schoolboys


Oliver Hoskins

Australia A Schoolboys


Sam Reiser

Australian Schoolboys


Sam Jeffries


Curtis Browning

Australian Schoolboys


Liam Gill (C)

FxPro Super Rugby, Australian Under 20s, Australian Sevens, Australian Schoolboys


Thomas Cusack

Australian Schoolboys


Matt Lucas

Australian Sevens, Australian Schoolboys, Australian Under 20s


Kyle Godwin

FxPro Super Rugby EPS


Allan Faalavaau

Australian Sevens, Australian Schoolboys


Apolosi Latunipulu

Australian Under 20s, Australian Schoolboys


Chris Feauai-Sautia

FxPro Super Rugby, Australian Under 20s


Lindsay Crook

Australian Sevens, Australian Schoolboys


Ulupano Seuteni

FxPro Super Rugby EPS, Australian Under 20s



Hugh Roach

Australian Under 20s


Silatolu Latu


Jed Holloway

Australian Schoolboys


Sean McMahon

Australian Sevens, Australian Schoolboys


Nick Frisby

FxPro Super Rugby EPS


Con Foley

Australian Sevens


Lewis Holland

Australian Sevens, Australian Schoolboys


Allan Alaalatoa

Australian Schoolboys