Robinson names Scottish Six Nations squad

by staff

Scotland rugby coach Andy Robinson named six uncapped players in a 36-man squad on Thursday for the opening rounds of the Six Nations Championship.

Among the newcomers are Wales-born London Irish centre Steven Shingler, qualified for Scotland through his mother, Edinburgh wing Lee Jones and 19-year-old Glasgow full-back Stuart Hogg.

Glasgow back-row Robert Harley and fly-half Duncan Weir have yet to play Test rugby too, with Sale flanker/lock Fraser McKenzie also waiting for his first taste of full international action.

Scotland will be looking to bounce back from a World Cup in New Zealand where they were eliminated at the group stage for the first time after defeats by both Argentina and England.

They face arch-rivals England in the latest edition of rugby union's oldest Test fixture when they open their Six Nations campaign with a Calcutta Cup clash at Murrayfield on February 4 before travelling to Cardiff to play Wales the following weekend.

Former England flanker and coach Robinson has selected all 28 available players from the 30-man World Cup squad - record cap holder and points scorer Chris Paterson and forward Nathan Hines have both retired from international rugby since the tournament.

Scotland 36-man squad for the Six Nations internationals at home to England on February 4 and away to Wales on February 12:

Backs: Joe Ansbro (London Irish/ENG), Mike Blair (Edinburgh), Chris Cusiter (Glasgow), Simon Danielli (Ulster/IRL), Nick de Luca (Edinburgh, Max Evans (Castres/FRA), Stuart Hogg, Ruaridh Jackson (both Glasgow), Lee Jones, Greig Laidlaw (both Edinburgh), Rory Lamont (Glasgow), Sean Lamont (Scarlets/WAL), Rory Lawson (Gloucester/ENG), Graeme Morrison (Glasgow), Dan Parks (Cardiff Blues/WAL), Steven Shingler (London Irish/ENG), Duncan Weir (Glasgow)

Forwards: John Barclay (Glasgow), Kelly Brown (Saracens), Geoff Cross, David Denton (both Edinburgh), Alasdair Dickinson (Sale/ENG), Ross Ford (Edinburgh), Richie Gray, Dougie Hall (both Glasgow), Jim Hamilton (Gloucester/ENG), Robert Harley (Glasgow), Allan Jacobsen (Edinburgh), Alastair Kellock (Glasgow), Scott Lawson (Gloucester/ENG), Moray Low (Glasgow), Fraser McKenzie (Sale/ENG), Euan Murray (Newcastle/ENG), Ross Rennie (Edinburgh), Alasdair Strokosch (Gloucester/ENG), Richie Vernon (Sale/ENG)